This is the "Coming-of-age" page of the "Coming of Age" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for researching coming of age and related topics. Research help is available 24/7 through the SCC Library Homepage.
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/ComingOfAge Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Coming-of-age Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Videos

Search the Library Catalog to find books in the SCC and partner libraries. (Remember to also Search WIN Borrow Libraries and request items be sent to SCC for you.)

Try a SUBJECT search on:

  • Adolescence
  • Adolescent psychology
  • Teenagers
  • Teenage girls
  • Teenage boys
  • Emotions in adolescence
  • Adulthood
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • Sex role
  • Life cycle, Human
  • Developmental psychology
  • Developmental neurobiology
  • Rites and ceremonies
  • Initiation rites
  • African American families
  • United States--Social life and customs
  • Indians of North America - Rites and ceremonies
  • Bildungsromans

Try a KEYWORD search on a phrases like:

            "coming of age"

            "rites of passage"

            "life course"

 to find books like these:

(Reference books are on the library 1st floor; call numbers begin with "R")

(Circulating books are on the library 2nd floor)

Cover Art
Life Events and Rites of Passage
Call Number: R 306 HILL 2008
ISBN: 9780780807358

Cover Art
Marriage Customs of the World
ISBN: 1576079880
ebook and print book in the SCC Library Reference Collection: R 392.5 MONGER 2004

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: R 305.8003 1998 Location 1st floor
ISBN: 0787605522
To search the online version, follow the link from the title of this book which take you to the SCC Library database: Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: R 200.3 ENCYCLO 2005
ISBN: 0028657330
Consult the index and pages: 7796-7831 for discussion of rites of passage in various religions. To search the online version, follow the link from the title of this book which take you to the SCC Library database: Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Holidays and Celebrations
Call Number: R 394.26 ENCYCLO 2006
ISBN: 9780816062355
Use volumes 1 and 2 to find information about rites of passage in countries worldwide

Cover Art
Multicultural America
Call Number: R 305.8009 MULTICUL 2011
ISBN: 0313357862
The section in most of the cultures about "Family, Culture, and Life-Cycle Rituals"

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide
Call Number: R 305.2303 GREENWO 2008
ISBN: 9780313336140

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide
Call Number: R 305.4203 GREENWO 2003
ISBN: 0313327874

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture
Call Number: R 306.03 GREENWO 2007
ISBN: 9780313332555

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
Call Number: R 305.231 GALE EN Location: 1st floor

Encyclopedia of Psychology - Corsini
Call Number: R 150.3 ENCYCLO 1994 Location: 1st floor

Preparing Youth for the Crossing from Adolescence to Early Adulthood
Call Number: 155.5 PREPARI 2006 Location: 2nd floor

 

eReference Books

Search eEncyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference from the Library Databases page to find statistics, topic overviews, research summaries, and references to other works you can use for further research.

 

Some searches to try: 

"emerging adulthood"

"rites of passage"

adolescence

Quinceanera

Bar Mitzvah

hazing

Encylopedias in the GVRL include:

  • Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
  • Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender 
  • Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Databases & Periodical Articles

Search Library databases for information on all topics including: 

Psychology, Child Development, Adult Development, Literature, and more.

 

Suggested ProQuest searches:  

"human development" and adulthood 

"puberty rites" and africa

pregnancy and "rite of passage"

(rites or rituals or ceremonies) and puberty

(rites or rituals or ceremonies) and adolescence

"native americans" and "rites of passage and puberty 

"native americans" and "rites of passage" and teen*

Try these ProQuest articles for general information on adolescence:

  • The Blessing as a rite of Passage in Adolescence

Christopher A Bjornsen. Adolescence. Roslyn Heights: Summer 2000. Vol. 35, Iss. 138; p. 357 (7 pages)

  • Rites of Passage to Adulthood: Adolescence in the Western World

Cigdem Kagitcibasi. Human Development. Basel: Mar/Apr 2002. Vol. 45, Iss. 2; p. 136 (5 pages)

  • Rites of Passage in Adolescence

Delaney, Cassandra Halleh. Adolescence. Roslyn Heights: Winter 1995. Vol. 30, Iss. 120; p. 891 (7 pages)

Databases: Articles, Statistics. Primary Sources, & more

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the web. Access to databases from off-campus requires login using your student ID number.

When searching a database, remember to try a variety of keywords and combinations. You will get different results with different searches. Here are some keyword searches to try:

"rites of passage"

"rite of passage"

 initiation

"puberty rites"

"coming of age" and rituals""

"rite of passage" and childbirth

You will find databases covering All Subjects linked from the SCC Library homepage. Here are some databases you may find useful:

Search tips

When you search for information, try different search terms, like:

  • "coming of age"
  • "rites of passage"
  • "puberty rites"
  • "teenage boys"
  • "rites and rituals"
  • "emerging adulthood"
  • puberty
  • adolescence
  • teenagers
  • rites
  • rituals
  • adulthood

You can combine several concepts together in one search:

"rites of passage" and Hindu

"puberty rites" and Africa

Learn more about advanced searching and combining concepts in this tutorial:

Cultures & Countries

See the Cultures and Countries research guide to research particular cultural practices.

Don't miss these huge book collections!

Search WIN Borrow Libraries in the Library Catalog, then, Request item to get books sent from

  • U. of Idaho,
  • Gonzaga,
  • and other college library collections.

Books arrive at the SCC Library within 3 to 5 days; we phone you when they arrive.

Plus, set up an eBook account at the SCC LIbrary to view more books from home.

Websites

Add limiters like these to a Google search to get more credible results.

site:.gov

(retrieves sites from U.S. Government entities)

site:.edu

(retrieves sites from colleges & universities; make sure info is from an expert, not a student!)

You will find sites like these which are from a credible and expert source:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip