Skip to main content

Cultures & Countries: African/African American

. . .

Use the resources on the Home page of this guide, and these additional resources which give information specifically about African countries and cultures, and African American culture:

Books

Browse reference books on the library 1st floor in the 960 call number area:

Find books on the 2nd floor by searching the Library Catalog for Subjects like:

  • African Americans
  • African Americans
  • African Americans
  • African Americans--History
  • African Americans--Biography
  • Civil rights

What countries are in Africa?

Database: Credo Reference

The library database Credo Reference contains encyclopedias of cultures, countries, and history. Here are a few titles:

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.

African American Almanac

The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America.

Encyclopedia of African History

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the eEncyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

Encyclopedia of South Africa

This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.

South Africa's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook

This authoritative work examines 500 years of interaction between the races in a country that during the apartheid era became a byword for racial disharmony.