Skip to main content

Faculty Toolkit for Teaching Information Literacy: Discover & select

Starting piont from WA SBCTC

You may wish to start your search for OER using the Open Washington Find OER page.

If you don't find what you need, ask an SCC librarain for help and/or search some of the other collections listed below.

Major collections: OER for Higher Education

Search the major collections and aggregators below for OER to use in your course.

This is not an exhaustive list, so if you cannot easily find something which suits your needs, contact a CCS Librarian or eLearning for help finding an appropriate resource.

Multidisciplinary repositories of open textbooks and similar tools are featured in this box. These are major repositories whose content is predominantly open textbooks and may also include multimedia or other courseware.

Open Courseware (including MOOCs)

Open Courseware which may contain open textbooks, syllabi, quizzes, lectures, lecture notes, and videos of lectures and other AV materials, etc. 

Aggregators, like Open Courseware Consortium and the Saylor Foundation are searchable databases of MOOCs and other open educational resources.

Selected favorite sites

Sites whose content can be used in any discipline.

Other collections

Collections with valuable open content which are smaller than the "major" collections listed above, or which are useful for a specific discipline.

Video & audio collections

Collections predominantly of video which may include other media content (like audio or broadcasts).

 

Notes about video-based open educational resources and Creative Commons: 

YouTube videos

“YouTube has added the Creative Commons Attribution license (CC BY) as a licensing option for users [who upload videos]! . . .  In conjunction with the implementation, YouTube has launched a Creative Commons video library containing 10,000 videos under CC BY from organizations such as C-SPAN, PublicResource.org, Voice of America, and Al Jazeera. The library will serve as a base catalog of videos for users to access, edit, and incorporate into their own video projects.”

Open Course Library videos (forthcoming)

All video created as part of the Open Course Library will be available via YouTube and licensed with Creative Commons CC-BY.

Open access journals

More and more scholarly journals are becoming open access, particularly in the science and health fields. Many are peer-reviewed. Publicly available indexes like ERIC (Education), PubMed, and Google Scholar will contain both full-text articles and many that are not full text (but can be obtained by requesting from your CCS library). The collections below contain full text journals, but the list is not exhaustive, so if you don't find what you need contact your CCS library.

Reminder: Our students have easy access to 1000s of periodicals though our many library databases.

Classic books

Collections of books, largely classics and out-of-copyright works of fiction and nonfiction. Some may be multimedia including audiobooks.

Games (customizable teaching games)

Assessment tools

Find a fuller list of materials about educational assessment in the SCC research guide, Assessment & Outcomes: Teaching & Learning Resources.

Featured here is WASSAIL, an open source assessment and survey tool which is immediately available for use by those at the Community Colleges of Spokane.

Those outside of CCS may contact the SCC Library to request a copy of WASSAIL for free. The link below gives you an overview of WASSAIL and its functions. Contact SCC Library for more information or to use WASSAIL.

Resources to aid in course design

Other guides to OER and finding aids