This is the "Civil Rights" page of the "Civil Rights: The Help and Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Rights: The Help and Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven   Tags: civil rights, common text, diversity, human rights, multiculturalism, prejudice, racism, sherman alexie, tolerance  

This guide will help you find information in books, library databases, websites, and primary sources for researching themes featured in the SCC Common texts. For research help use the library's 24/7 live chat.
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/civilrights Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Civil Rights Print Page
  Search: 
 

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the web. Access to databases from off-campus requires login using your student ID number.

You will find databases covering History and related topics linked from the SCC Library homepageFor the topic of Civil Rights the following databases will be particularly useful:

Other research guides from our library

 

Books

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. Here are some SUBJECT searches to try:

  •  African Americans - Segregation   
  •  Indians of North America – Civil Rights  
  •  Segregation in education 
  •  Southern states – Race relations 
  •  United States – Race relations 
  •  United States – Social conditions
  • Civil Rights
  • Civil rights movements
  • Chicano movement
  • Nineteen sixties
  • Racism
  • Racism – Psychological aspects
  • African American women – Social conditions

If you want to browse the shelves, American History books can be found in the 970s and Civil Rights books in the 323s.

Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

Reference books are on the 1st floor. These include specialized encyclopedias and historical atlases. Reference books are often good starting points for research. Here are some examples: 

Civil Rights in the United States

R 323.0973 CIVIL R 2000


ABC-CLIO Companion to the 1960s Counterculture in America

R 973.923 HAMILTO


American Decades: 1950-1959 

American Decades: 1960-1969 

R 973.9 AMERICA 


 

Chronology of American History

R 973.02 FREDRIK


  

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century 

R 973.0496 ENCYCLO 2009


Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

R 920.7208 BLACK 1993


 Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas

R 973.0468 OXFORD 2005


You'll also find reference books in the library databases like:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip