This is the "Coming of age" page of the "Coming of Age: The Glass Castle / Catcher in the Rye" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use this guide to find research information on your topic.
Last Updated: Dec 5, 2011 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/coming_of_age Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Coming of age Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Videos

Search the Library Catalog to find books in the SCC and partner libraries. (Remember to also Search WIN Borrow Libraries and request items be sent to SCC for you.)

Try a SUBJECT search on:

  • Adolescence
  • Adolescent psychology
  • Teenagers
  • Teenage girls
  • Teenage boys
  • Adulthood
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • Life cycle, Human
  • Developmental psychology
  • Developmental neurobiology
  • Rites and ceremonies
  • Initiation rites
  • African American families
  • United States--Social life and customs
  • Bildungsromans

Try a KEYWORD search on a phrases like:

            "coming of age"

            "rites of passage"

            "life course"

 to find books like these:

Life Events and Rites of Passage: The Customs and Symbols of Major Life-Cycle Milestones, Including Cultural, Secular, and Religious Traditions Observed in the United States
Call Number: R 306 HILL 2008
Location: SCC 1st floor

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood and Adolescence
Call Number: R 305.231 GALE EN
Location: SCC 1st floor

All Grown Up and No Place to Go: Teenagers in Crisis
Call Number: 305.235 ELKIND (SFCC)

Preparing Youth for the Crossing from Adolescence to Early Adulthood
Call Number: 155.5 PREPARI 2006
Location: SCC 2nd floor

Encyclopedia of Psychology - Corsini
Call Number: R 150.3 ENCYCLO 1994
Location: SCC 1st floor

 

eReference Books

Search eEncyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference from the Library Databases page to find statistics, topic overviews, research summaries, and references to other works you can use for further research.

 

Encylopedias in the GVRL include:

  • Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood: In History and Society
  • Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender 
  • Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Databases & Periodical Articles

Search these Library databases for information on all topics including: 

Psychology, Child Development, Adult Development, Literature, and more.

 

Suggested search:   "human development" and adulthood 

 

Try these ProQuest articles for general information on adolescence:

 
  • The Blessing as a rite of Passage in Adolescence

Christopher A Bjornsen. Adolescence. Roslyn Heights: Summer 2000. Vol. 35, Iss. 138; p. 357 (7 pages)

  • Rites of Passage to Adulthood: Adolescence in the Western World

Cigdem Kagitcibasi. Human Development. Basel: Mar/Apr 2002. Vol. 45, Iss. 2; p. 136 (5 pages)

  • Rites of Passage in Adolescence

Delaney, Cassandra Halleh. Adolescence. Roslyn Heights: Winter 1995. Vol. 30, Iss. 120; p. 891 (7 pages)

Cultures & Countries

See the Cultures and Countries research guide to research particular cultural practices.

Don't miss these huge book collections!

Search WIN Borrow Libraries in the Library Catalog, then, Request this item to get books sent from

  • U. of Idaho,
  • Gonzaga,
  • and other college library collections.

Books arrive at the SCC Library within 3 to 5 days; we phone you when they arrive.

Plus, set up an eBook account at the SCC LIbrary to view more books from home.

Websites

Add limiters like these to a Google search to get more credible results.

site:.gov

(retrieves sites from U.S. Government entities)

site:.edu

(retrieves sites from colleges & universities; make sure info is from an expert, not a student!)

You will find sites like these which are from a credible and expert source:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip