Skip to main content
library banner

Cultures & Countries: All

About this guide

Use the resources on this page to find information about ALL cultures and countries.

The resources on the tabbed pages may provide additional information.

Reference Books

Encyclopedias and other reference books are the best place to start researching a new topic. (There are also library databases which contain online reference books.) Go to the 1st floor of the library and find the encyclopedias of Culture, Music, Folklore, Marriage, Food, etc., in these call number areas:

  • Cultures                      305 and 306 and 390
  • Countries                    900
  • Art                               700
  • Music                          780
  • Food                            395 and 641 
  • Cultural Etiquette         395

Circulating Books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • China - Guidebooks
  • China - Description and travel
  • Culture shock - China
  • Etiquette - China
  • Education - China
  • China - Civilization
  • China - Intellectual life
  • China - Religion
  • China - Social life and customs
  • Intercultural Communication
  • Multiculturalism
  • Ethnicity

Databases: Best Bets

Databases of all types are available from the SCC Library homepage.  Use them  to find ebooks, art images, music, streaming video, articles, and more.

  Countires, peoples and cultures cover art   A to Z the world cover art    Cultures and daily life cover art

(Citation hint: Most libraries have citation generators making it simple to cite information you find.)

Databases: Credo Reference

The library database Credo Reference contains encyclopedias of culture some of which include information on non-verbal communication, attitudes, gestures, gender, health beliefs, and more.  Here are a few titles:

Eastern Europe: An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: New England

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Great Plains Region

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Mid-Atlantic Region

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Midwest

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Pacific Region

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Rocky Mountain Region

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The South

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Southwest

Mexico: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Culture and History

Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture

France and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

Germany and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

Iberia and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

Britain and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History

More Databases

Transcultural Healthcare

TRANSCULTURAL NURSING

Books, articles, and websites about transcultural nursing or transcultural medicine in general will have cultural etiquette information, particularly about large immigrant and refugee populations. Try these suggested books and websites, and ask a librarian for help searching for articles in our article index databases (like CINAHL, ProQuest, and Academic Search Complete).