This is the "Databases by Subject" page of the "Library Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Databases  

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/librarydatabases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

All Subjects

Academic Search Complete
Index to magazines, journals, and newspapers

Alexander Street Press
Comprehensive collection of streaming video and audio

Associates Programs Source Plus
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers and books specifically selected for two-year college students

Audiobook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Downloadable audiobooks including popular fiction, mysteries, science fiction, thrillers, westerns, romance, biographies, history, self-help, and more

Biography in Context
Information on the lives of noteworthy people from around the world and throughout history

Britannica Image Quest
Collection of high quality, downloadable images with all rights-cleared for non-commercial and educational use

Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica, plus a dictionary, thesaurus, world atlas, magazine and journal articles, and a guide to the Web's best sites

CQ Researcher
In-depth reports on controversial topics, including background information, pro/con, and statistics

Credo Reference     keyword searching tutorial     advanced searching tutorial
Collection of online reference books covering many subject areas, including art, business, history, geography, language, literature, medicine, philosophy, psychology, science, social science, and technology

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Collection of downloadable e-books

eLibrary
Database of magazines, newspapers, reference books, and transcripts, plus thousands of pictures, maps and audio/video files

FirstSearch
Collection of databases covering journal articles, books, digital resources, conference papers and proceedings, and more
For journal articles that are not available full text, contact a librarian for assistance.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)     tutorial
Collection of online encyclopedias in a variety of subject areas

OneClickdigital
Collection of downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books - includes a wide variety of topics - students must create and/or sign in to an individual account before downloading can be completed

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Information on controversial social issues with viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full text magazine and newspaper articles

Oxford Reference Online
Dictionaries and reference titles covering a variety of subjects: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional (available on trial until October 20, 2014)

ProQuest    basic search tutorial other tutorials
Index to magazines, journals and newspapers

Internet Explorer 9 users: The "cite" feature for viewing formatted citations may not work unless you use COMPATIBILITY VIEW within ProQuest (more about compatibility view).

 

Art

ARTstor
Digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences

Off-campus users must first complete the free registration process: After entering the database using an on-campus computer, click the Go button, then click Register. As a registered user you will be able to search, save images into folders and download the offline image viewer (OIV) software. Need help? Call 509-533-8821 (toll-free: 1-800-248-5644 extension 8821) or email reference@scc.spokane.edu .

CAMIO
Collection of art images from prominent museums around the world that are downloadable and rights-cleared for educational use

Oxford Art Online    tutorial
Comprehensive encyclopedia and dictionary of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day; includes world art, images, biographies, and more – Note: limit of three concurrent users

 

Automotive

ALLDATA
Automotive diagnostic and repair information, including manufacturer technical service bulletins, wiring diagrams, and maintenance tables - on-campus access only - Note: Access to ALLDATA is supported by Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act funds

 

Business

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Full text database of business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus - Note: This is a component database of ProQuest.

DemographicsNow     tutorial
Comprehensive U.S. demographic data; users can create custom reports for specific locations using variables such as income, housing, race, age, education, consumer expenditures, and more

ProQuest Entrepreneurship
Collection of articles, video clips, blogs, how-to books, company reports, market research, sample business plans, templates, forms, and more - This is a component database of ProQuest.

ReferenceUSA
Business and residential directory

 

Careers/Employment

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Job and industry profiles, career forecasts, job-hunting skills, financial aid resources, and more

Films on Demand: Selected Videos
Videos available for online viewing include: 10 Basics of Business Etiquette, Interviewing for a Job, and a 10-video series: The New Living Body

LearningExpress Library
Collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and career resources

Note: You must first complete the free registration process to use the tools and materials in the database. After entering the database, click Register in the upper right hand corner.

 

Database Access Problems?

Use this troubleshooting guide if you're having problems accessing SCC Library databases from off-campus.

 

Cultures/Countries

CultureGrams
Concise and up-to-date country reports with information on daily life and customs

Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Information from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines

 

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary    tutorial (MS PowerPoint)
Definitive guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of English words, past and present; word usage is traced through quotations from a wide range of international sources

 

Education

ERIC
Index to journals, digests and other documents in the field of education
For journal articles that are not available full text, contact a librarian for assistance.

 

Health Sciences/Nursing

CINAHL with Full Text
Index to nursing and allied health journals (includes full text articles for some journals)
basic searching tutorial     advanced searching tutorial     CINAHL headings tutorial  

Cochrane Library
Evidence-based health care information, including systematic reviews, protocols, trials and other reports on the effectiveness of medical treatments and interventions - Note: Access to Cochrane Library is supported by Carl D. Perkins Vocational and Technical Education Act funds

Health Reference Center Academic    tutorial
Articles, pamphlets, and reference books

Micromedex
Primarily a collection of drug information databases (Healthcare Series); also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients (CareNotes System)

Internet Explorer 9 users: You may experience blank pages and other problems unless you use COMPATIBILITY VIEW within MICROMEDEX (more about compatibility view).

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Journals, dissertations, evidence-based nursing content, training tools and videos, and multicultural reports - This is a component database of ProQuest.

Salem Health
Magill's Medical Guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and medical issues; Psychology & Mental Health covers the history and core concepts of the field, as well as disorders, diagnoses, and treatments

 

History

History Study Center
Global history from ancient times to the present day, including primary sources, academic journals, multimedia, selected websites, and topic guides

National Geographic Magazine Archive
Complete contents from 1888-1994 including all photographs, maps, and advertisements

Oxford African American Studies Center
Comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture (available on trial until October 20, 2014)

Salem History
Full text primary source documents from both American and world history, with expert analysis and commentary

U.S. History in Context
Articles, reference books, and primary sources

World History in Context
Articles, reference books, and primary sources

 

Hospitality

Hospitality, Tourism & Leisure Collection
Content from industry journals, travel guides and magazines; provides well-rounded coverage of tourism, plus cultural and economic aspects of travel, leisure activities, and more

 

Literature

Literature Resource Center
Articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full text works and author biographies

Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible (available on trial until October 20, 2014)

ProQuest Learning: Literature
Information from reference books, study aids, biographical information, literary criticism, reviews, multimedia, and the full text of many literary works

Salem Literature
Collection of analytical works on several authors, the novel Dracula, and literary themes such as coming of age and dystopia

 

Science\Technology

Films on Demand: Selected Videos
Videos available for online viewing include: 10 Basics of Business Etiquette, Interviewing for a Job, and a 10-video series: The New Living Body

Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection
Articles from journals in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, with the addition of subject specific reference books

GreenFile
Index to periodical articles focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment

Salem Science
Information on the applied sciences, covering major fields and technologies, such as agriculture, computers, engineering, medical sciences, and space sciences

 

Which Database Has My Periodical?

Click here to see which periodical titles are available in any of the library databases. You can also browse by "category" to see which periodical titles are available in a particular subject area.                                                                         

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip