This is the "Books & Databases" page of the "Disabilities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources at the SCC Library and beyond for researching Disabilities and related issues. Get research help 24/7 or call us during open hours at: 533-8821.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/disabilities Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Books & Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Books, ebooks, and videos

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. If you search by subject (rather than keyword) here are some subject headings to try: 

  • people with disabilities
  • people with disabilities - employment
  • pregnancy in women with disabilities
  • women with disabilities
  • rehabilitation
  • sociology of disability
  • American Sign Language
  • discrimination against people with disabilities
  • students with disabilities
  • college students with disabilities
  • United States. Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

Books which check out are on the 2nd floor

Reference books are on the 1st floor. These include specialized encyclopedias. They are often good starting points for research.

Search eEncyclopedias using these library databases:

  Articles & Databases

From the library homepage search these Databases of All Subjects and Education to find articles in newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals. (Off campus? Login using your SID) 

 

Assistive features of SCC Library databases

Use SCC Library databases to find periodical articles, reports, statistics, primary sources, images and more.

From the library homepage, click on Databases by Subject to select a database.

Below are features of specific databases which may make them easier to use:

Britannica Online

font size
CINAHL with Fulltext listen (html full-text only)
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center font size
 Health Reference Center Academic listen, download mp3
ProQuest rss feeds, email alerts

Gale Virtual Reference Library

listen, download mp3

Biography in Context

U.S. History in Context

World History in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

font size, listen, download mp3

Want us to add a resource?

Submit your suggestion of a website or other resource you would like us to add to this guide.

 

Research handout for DSS Staff

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip