Books, eBooks, & Videos
Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects.
If you search by subject (rather than keyword) here are some subjects to try:
- Families
- Families - Economic aspects
- Families - United States
- Work and family
- Dysfunctional families
- Computers and families
- Television and families
- Parenting
- Poor children
- Responsibility
- Homelessness
- Homeless children
- Interracial Adoption
- Children of parents with disabilities
- Children of single parents
- Children of gay parents
- Children of prisoners
- Children of minorities
- Children of working parents
- Adulthood
- Life cycle, Human
- Developmental psychology
- Developmental neurobiology
- African American families
- Families - China
- Immigrants - United States
- United States--Social life and customs
Search WIN Borrow Libraries for more books on these and other subjects. (Request items be sent to SCC for you.)
- Marriage - Cross cultural studies
- Families - Cross cultural studies
- Kinship - Cross cultural studies
Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor.
Reference books are on the 1st floor.
These include specialized encyclopedias on particular subject. They are good starting points for research. Here are some examples:

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
R 306.803 INTERNA 2003

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture
R 951.003 ENCYCLO 2005

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
R 300.3 INTERNA 2008 (note: also available as an ebook through GVRL database)

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Latinos and Latinas in the United States
R 973.0468 OXFORD 2005
Want online encyclopedias?
Use these library databases which contain e-encyclopedias:
Welcome
The SCC Library has created this research guide to help you find credible information in books, databases, and websites.

These books and audio-book CDs are on reserve at the Library Circulation Desk
Can't find it at SCC Library? Expand the search
SCC students have access to several other libraries
SFCC & IEL materials
When you search the Library Catalog you may find books and videos on your topic at SFCC. Click the Request this item link to have an item sent to SCC for you to pick up. If it's convenient to stop by the Falls Library, you'll just need your student ID card for check out.
WIN Borrow Libraries
The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of inland northwest libraries called WIN (Washington Idaho Network). WIN includes:
- Gonzaga University,
- Whitworth University, and
- University of Idaho, among others.
Your student ID card can be used to check out books from any WIN library. You can also search WIN Borrow Libraries in the Library Catalog to find and request books.
Materials at other libraries
If you want a book or periodical article that does not seem to be available at SCC Library we can get it for you. We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan. (Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.)
Other research guides from our library
Library Databases
From the SCC Library homepage choose Databases by Subject. You can select the All Subjects databases or a category that covers your particular topic (Health, Literature, etc.). Here are some suggested databases:
Websites
Search the internet for credible sites, especially .gov and .edu sites from research institutes and scholars.

A few examples are listed below.
Ask a librarian for help finding the best information for you particular topic.
Videos online
View these online videos of Amy Chua and Jeanette Walls to learn more about the authors and their work: ![]()
- 'Tiger Mom' Amy Chua Responds to UproarInterview from PBS show, "Need to Know"
- The ""Tiger Mother" Speaks2011 interview from the Wall Street Journal website
- .Jeannette Walls - The Glass Castle - Book VideoBook Promotion from publisher
- Jeannette Walls Speaks at The Power Within Conference
- Jeannette Walls, author of "Glass Castle," Part 1 of 2

Loading...
