This is the "Government & Law" page of the "Government & Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government & Law   Tags: government, law  

Use this guide to find information from all levels of government and to do legal research
Last Updated: Dec 3, 2011 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/government Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Government & Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. 


Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

You'll find government and law in this Dewey Decimal area:

340's 


 

The Law Collection is located on the 1st floor of the library. It contains federal and state laws,  court cases, administrative regulations and other legal sources.  Ask a librarian if you need assistance using this material.

 


 

Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include specialized encyclopedias which are often good starting points for research. Here are some examples of reference books:

  

101 Law Forms for Personal Use
(R 347.055 WARNER)


 


Encyclopedia of Law & Society
(R 340.03 ENCYCLO)


 

 

Major Acts of Congress 
(R 348.7322 ENCYCLO)


Great American Court Cases 
(R 349.73 GREAT A)


 

The Supreme Court A to Z
(R 347.7326 JOST)

 

Welcome

Information Sources for
Government and Law


This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites

 

Washington State Capitol

Source: Access Washington

Voting & Election Resources

 

Living Voters Guide
a guide to the Washington State 2011 election, written by citizens like you

 


League of Women Voters of the Spokane area
a nonpartisan political organization which encourages informed and active participation in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy

 

 

Research help

Contact a Librarian


  Visit us during open hours

    (509) 533-8821

 1 (800) 248-5644   x.8821

 

  24/7 Chat

  email
 

Can't Find It at SCC?

SFCC materials

When you search the Library Catalog you may find books and videos on your topic at SFCC.  Click the "Request Item" button to have the item sent to SCC for you to pick up.  If it's convenient to stop by the Falls Library, you'll just need your student ID card for check out.

WINborrow

The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of inland northwest libraries called WIN (Washington Idaho Network).  WIN includes Gonzaga University, Whitworth University, University of Idaho, among others.  Your student ID card can be used to check out books from any WIN library.  You can also click the WINborrow button in the Library Catalog to search for and request books.

Materials at other libraries

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC, we can get it for you.  We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found in the library databases section of the SCC Library homepage. Access from off-campus will require entering your student ID number.  Here are some databases that are general in scope and will include information on issues related to government and law:

CQ Researcher
in-depth reporting on controversial topics

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
information on social issues with viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full text periodical articles

ProQuest
index to more than 5,500 magazines, journals and newspapers

 

Websites

Washington State and Local Information

 

City of Spokane

Spokane County

Access Washington
official site for the State of Washington

Find It! Washington
collection of online search tools to help Washington State citizens find government information

MRSC (Municipal Research and Services Center of Washington)
a private, non-profit organization providing access to city and county codes, Washington state laws and regulations, court decisions, city and county profiles, and more

Gonzaga University Law Library


Other States and Federal Information

 

How to do legal research (from Nolo)
includes definitions of legal jargon, how to find laws and court case, and more

Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute
large collection of links to legal sources available on the Internet including the United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, as well as information about the Justices of the Supreme Court, etc.

Thomas
federal legislative information from the Library of Congress

USA.gov
U.S. government's official Web portal

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip