This is the "Horticulture Research Resources" page of the "Horticulture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SCC Library resources you can use to research Horticulture topics and to find research help 24/7
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/horticulture Print Guide RSS Updates

Horticulture Research Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books

Books on Horticulture are generally shelved in these call number areas:

  • 580
  • 630
  • 710

           Secrets to a Successful Greenhouse and Business : A Complete Guide to Starting and Operating a High-Profit Business That Benefits the Environment

Find reference books on the first floor using these general numbers.

 

Search the Library Catalog to find books in the CCS libraries on subjects like:

  • Horticulture 
  • Gardening
  • Gardens - Design
  • Landscape architecture
  • Landscape design
  • Landscape plants
  • Landscaping industry
  • Arboriculture
  • Ornamental trees
  • Garden pests
  • Greenhouse management
  • Nurseries (Horticulture)
  • Organic gardening
  • Flower arrangement
  • Flowering shrubs
  • Viburnum
  • Rhododendrons

eBooks

Use the library databases below to access ebooks from on or off campus. (Off-campus access requires students login.)

  • Credo Reference
    eEncyclopedias on all topics including many in the botanical sciences
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    eEncyclopedias on various topics including and encyclopedia of Plant Science
  • Britannica Online
    Full version of this online encyclopedia with links to articles, images, and websites
  • eBook Collection (EBSCOhost )
    Search for books on broad topics like: trees, flowers, shrubs, to find titles like: Flowering Plant Origin, Evolution & Phylogeny; Alaska Trees and Shrubs; and more.

Florist/Floral Design

Suggestions of key professional associations

Suggestions of online trade journals

Other professional associations

Landscape Management

Suggestions of key professional associations

Suggestions of online trade journals

  • B & B (The official publication of the Washington State Nursery & Landscape Association)

Find these PUBLICATIONS in our ProQuest database

  • Landscape Management
  • Landscape Research
  • Aboriculture & Urban Forestry
  • Invasive Plant Science Management
  • Native Plants Journal
  • Journal of Plant Research

Find these PUBLICATIONS in our Associates Programs Source Plus database: 

  • Horticulture
  • Landscape Management
  • Landscape Journal
  • Landscape Trends
  • Landscape Ecology
  • Landscape & Ecological Engineering
  • Compost Science & Utilization
  • Plant & Pest Advisory: Landscape, Nursery and Turf

Find articles using SCC Library databases

Try the library's new resource: Primo

Use library databases like Associates Programs Source Plus and ProQuest to find articles on your topic in:

    • magazines
    • trade publications
    • newspapers
    • scholarly journals

Off-campus access to databases? Login required.

 

Browse print periodical in the Library

Browse our print periodicals (2 week check-out)

 

 

 

 

      

 

         

   

The library has print subscriptions to:

Greenhouse/Nursery

Suggestions of key professional associations

Suggestions of online trade journals

Other online trade journals and websites

  • Floriculture: Greenhouse Management Guidesheets
    From Purdue U., a list of websites on all aspects of floriculture including pest control and greenhouse management
  • American Nurseryman
    Online issues; articles also indexed and full text in library database: Associates Programs Source Plus
  • Greenhouse Grower
    Full-text is available in SCC Library's ProQuest database.
  • GrowerTalks
    For "commercial greenhouse growers (not florist/retailers or home gardeners) to do their jobs better: trends, successes in new types of production, marketing, business management, new crops, and issues facing the industry"
  • Horticulture Week
    Current issues available online; previous issues in library database: Associates Programs Source Plus
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip