Skip to main content

Horticulture: Plant ID and Selection

About this guide

When researching your plant, look for information in a variety of types of sources:

1. Books and ebooks in the SCC, SFCC, and partner library collections (include reference books like encyclopedias & e-encyclopedias)

2. Articles in library databases or in open collections like Google Scholar

3. Websites which are from reputable publishers like those listed below

Not finding what you're looking for? Ask a librarian any time of the day or night. We're available 24/7!

Reference books

Start your research with reference books.

 

They may give you an overview of your topic and references to other research sources.

Located on the library 1st floor reference books must stay in the library. You may either take notes or make photocopies of a portion of the book. Books on Horticulture are generally shelved in these call number areas:

  • 580
  • 630
  • 710

Search reference books online using library databases:

Circulating books

Use the library Search box to find books on your subject.

 

Suggested subjects you can try:

  • Plants - - Identification
  • Plants and history
  • Botany
  • Landscape plants
  • Landscape gardening
  • Trees
  • Trees - United States - Identification
  • Shrubs
  • Ornamental shrubs
  • Ornamental woody plants
  • Arboriculture
  • Flowers
  • Herbs
  • Echinacea
  • Willows
  • Viburnum

You can also browse the Horticulture books on the library 2nd floor.

 

Browse books with these call numbers:

  • 580
  • 630
  • 710

eBook Collection EBSCOhost

stack of books with letter E superimposed In addition to searching the library print collections, your should also search the library database called eBook Collection EBSCOhost. Here is an example search for books about "flowering plants."

 

Plants & human history

Search the library's print & ebook collections for books on topics like:

 

Plants and history

Plants, Useful

Medicinal plants

Edible plants

Poisonous plants

Human-plant relationships

and more...

SCC Library databases: Articles, ebooks, and more

SCC Library databases are the best tool to use to find articles, ebooks, and other collections of electronic information.

Need articles? Use a database like ProQuest to find articles in:

  • popular magazines
  • trade publications
  • newspapers
  • scholarly or academic journals

Access: The library subscribes to  databases for our currently enrolled students to use. The information in library databases is often not available on the free internet. Off-campus access to library databases requires student login.

Your librarians recommend the following databases for Horticulture and Plant Identification research:

 Reference Books.

 Periodical Article Indexes.

 Other.

Websites

Plant ID websites recommended by SCC Instructor, Teya Kuhle (updated May 2012)

Fall 2017 in-class worksheet

Annotated Bibliography

The link below describes, in general, what an annotated bibliography is and gives suggestions on how to write one. If you have any questions about a particular class assignment for Plant ID or any other class, make sure you ask your instructor.

Plant identification research handouts

  Possible workflow for student researchers:

 

BOOKS

  1. From the library homepage, use the library SEARCH box to find books in SCC and partner libraries.
  2. Also search library databases which contain ebooks.
  3. [You can search other libraries, like WSU, and request books through the SCC Library's interlibrary loan.]

Plant family

CCS Library

 

 

CCS partner libraries

 

 

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

 

 

Credo Reference

Collection of online reference books covering many subject areas, including art, business, history, geography, language, literature, medicine, philosophy, psychology, science, social science, and technology

 

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Collection of reference books in a variety of subject areas

   

 WSU Library (then request titles via ILL)

 

 

 

If your species is the type of plant you think might have entire books written about it (Geraniums, Ginko, Echinacea, Willows, Asters, Maples, etc.), search the same sources for books about the species.

Plant

CCS Library

 

 

CCS partner libraries

 

 

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

 

 

Credo Reference

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

 

 

 WSU Library (then request titles via ILL)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ARTICLES

Search for articles on your plant and/or plant family. Try searching both the common name, then the scientific name.

 

ProQuest

 

 

Associates Programs Source Plus

 

 

Academic Search Complete

 

 

Science in Context

 

 

 

 

WEBSITES

You may consult some of the websites on this guide. You may also search for .gov, .edu, or other sites, then evaluate the credibility of the websites you find.