This is the "Invasive Cardiovascular Technology" page of the "Invasive Cardiovascular Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Invasive Cardiovascular Technology   Tags: allied health, health science, invasive cardiovascular, medicine  

Use this guide to find information in books, library databases and websites
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/invasivecardiovascular Print Guide RSS Updates
Invasive Cardiovascular Technology Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. 


 

Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

You'll find health and medical books in this Dewey Decimal area:

610 - 619

Books specifically related to cardiology are in this area:

616.12


 

Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Here are some examples:

  

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
(R 610.3 STEDMAN)


 


Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment
(R 616.075 CURRENT)


 

 

Drug Facts and Comparisons
(R 615.1 DRUG FA)


Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
(R 616 HARRISO)

 

 

Welcome

Information Sources for
Invasive Cardiovascular Technology


This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites

 

Source: NIH Image Bank

 

Help with Research

You can get help with your research by chatting online with a librarian (available 24/7), by emailing it to us (available 24/7), or by calling the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821 during our normal business hours.

Citation Guides
How to cite sources, plus other writing assistance information.

 

Can't Find It at SCC?

SFCC materials

When you search the Library Catalog you may find books and videos on your topic at SFCC.  Click the "Request Item" button to have the item sent to SCC for you to pick up.  If it's convenient to stop by the Falls Library, you'll just need your student ID card for check out.

WINborrow

The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of inland northwest libraries called WIN (Washington Idaho Network).  WIN includes Gonzaga University, Whitworth University, University of Idaho, among others.  Your student ID card can be used to check out books from any WIN library.  You can also click the WINborrow button in the Library Catalog to search for and request books.

Materials at other libraries

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC, we can get it for you.  We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

 

Careers & Employment

If you're looking for career and jobs information check out the Allied Health Careers research guide.

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found in the library databases section of the SCC Library homepage. Access from off-campus will require entering your student ID number.  Here are some that may be useful for researching topics related to invasive cardiovascular technology:

CINAHL with Fulltext
articles in nursing and allied health journals

Cochrane Library
evidence-based health care information, including reports on the effectiveness of different medical treatments and interventions

Health Reference Center Academic
articles, pamphlets and reference books

MICROMEDEX
primarily a source of drug and disease information for healthcare professionals, also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients called CareNotes System

ProQuest
index to more than 5,500 magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

 

Websites

Working Environment

CathLab.com
includes Internet resources in the field of cardiac & vascular technology, as well as a chat room and message board

Professional Societies

Society of Invasive Cardiovascular Professionals
is a dynamic force in the field; it is very active in continuing education and for anyone working in the cath. lab

Alliance of Cardiovascular Professionals
has been in existence for many years and serves the field through its efforts; it is for cardiovascular technologists working in the cath. lab

Cardiovascular Credentialing International
the body administering the registry exam for cardiovascular professions; it is responsible for evaluating the minimum entrance competencies for cath. lab personnel; the invasive credential is the RCIS (Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist)

American Heart Association
has a wide range of activities from CPR to physician continuing education and heart disease research

American College of Cardiology
a physician organization rallying cardiologists to fight the nations number one killer, heart disease; the ACC organizes research and educational conferences in a multitude of area

Heart Rhythm Society
has physicians and technologists in its membership; the organization is involved with credentialing and education related to treatment of cardiac electrical disturbances

Medical Equipment

Boston Scientific
makes a wide variety of devices from balloons to open arteries to intravascular ultrasound to see through the walls of arteries from within

LifeBeat Online
an e-newsletter created to help people with cardiac devices live full, active lives; includes cardiac news, health tips, and more

Medtronic
started as a pacemaker company; it has moved into many other cardiology product arenas including endovascular stents

Medical Literature

PubMed / Medline
index to medical literature worldwide
Note: This is a huge database. It includes citations to journal articles from around the globe and in many different languages. You may want to limit to articles in English and those that are available "free full text."

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip