Books
Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. Here are some SUBJECT searches to try:
- Social Justice
- Social Justice - Southern States
- Prejudices in children
- African Americans - Segregation
- Indians of North America – Civil Rights
- Segregation in education
- Southern States – Race relations
- United States – Race relations
- United States – Social conditions
- Civil Rights
- Civil rights movements
- Chicano movement
- Nineteen thirties
- Racism
- Racism – Psychological aspects
- Prejudices - United States
- Human Rights
- African American women – Social conditions
If you want to browse the shelves, American History books can be found in the 970s and Civil Rights books in the 323s.
Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.
Reference books are on the 1st floor. These include specialized encyclopedias and historical atlases. Reference books are often good starting points for research. Here are some examples:

Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them
R 809.93358 LITERAT 1997
Civil Rights in the United States
R 323.0973 CIVIL R 2000
American Decades: 1930-1939
R 973.9 AMERICA

Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century
R 973.0496 ENCYCLO 2009

Encyclopedia of American Indian History
R 970.00497 ENCYCLO 2008
You'll also find reference books in the library databases like:
Welcome
The SCC Library has created this research guide to help you find credible information in books, periodicals, and websites.

These books are on reserve at the Library circulation desk.
Websites
- African Americans and Seattle's Civil Rights History
- American Cultural History - The Twentieth Century
- Birmingham Civil Rights Institute
- Civil rights movements--Alabama
- Historylink.org
- Internet Archive
- Outline of U.S. History
- Remembering Jim Crow
- Southern Poverty Law Center
- The Civil Rights Era
- The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
- USA.gov: Culture and Ethnic Groups
- Voices of Civil Rights
- Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
Research related topics
Use these other research guides to research topics like Literature and Equity & Diversity.
- Equity and Diversity
- History
- Psychology
- LiteratureResearch great works of literature, their authors, and the time period in which they were written using these LITERATURE research tools
Library Databases
.jpg)
Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the web. Access to databases from off-campus requires login using your student ID number.
You will find databases covering History and Literature and All Subjects linked from the SCC Library homepage.Here are some databases you may find particularly useful:

Loading...
