Skip to main content

Paralegal and Legal Nurse: SCC Library Resources

This research guide contains resources for legal research, as well as career and professional information.

Welcome

Information Sources for Paralegal and Legal Nurse Students

Use the resources listed on this guide and ask a librarian for research help at any time.

Ask a Librarian 24/7

   Image: Supreme Court Expected to Rule on Obama's Health Care Act. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.

Careers books & databases

Check the SCC Legal Careers website for information on the paralegal and legal nurse pro

The SCC Library Career Collection (located on the 1st floor) contains books on careers in specific fields, the job search process, resume and cover letter writing, and interview skills.  Here are some examples:

MORE . . .

See career and job information on the SCC program website: 

Encyclopedias & dictionaries

In the Law collection you'll find several dictionaries of legal terms and encyclopedias, like American Jurisprudence.

Also, search our e-reference book databases linked here. They contain dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri and more on topics like:

  • American Law
  • International Law
  • Comparative criminal,justice

and more

Books in the print Law collection

 

The Law Collection is located on the 1st floor of the library.  It contains federal and state laws,  court cases, administrative regulations and other legal sources. 

Important note: Some materials in the law collection do not receive regular updates.  Shelves are labeled to indicate sources which may have out-of-date information. 

Books in the circulating collection

MORE . . .

Use the SCC/SFCC and partner libraries (Gonzaga and others) to search for more books.

Also use the library's ebook collection.


SCC/SFCC Library Search:

Periodicals

Articles from 100s of legal periodicals can be accessed using SCC Library Databases.

 

To see a full list of law periodicals:

1. Choose a database below

2. Click the PUBLICATIONS link in the database.

3. Search for all publications on the subject of Law.

 

Example periodicals include:

 

  • Know: The Magazine for Paralegals
  • Legal & Criminological Psychology 
  • Legal Ethics
  • Legal Medicine
  • National Paralegal Reporter
  • Paralegal Educator

There are a handful of print periodicals located in the SCC/SFCC library collections:

Books on Legal research & citation

Disclaimer

SCC librarians are not attorneys and, therefore, cannot give legal advice, perform legal research, or interpret legal materials.  However, we can make suggestions about resources and research tools you can use.

About this guide

This guide was created by Librarians at Spokane Community College Library