This is the "Research Resources" page of the "The Art of Racing in the Rain" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Art of Racing in the Rain   Tags: art of racing in the rain, authors, common text, literature  

Use these resources to research the SCC Common Text and related themes - Fall 2009
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/racing Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Research Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Videos

Below are research suggestions to get you started. If you can't find what you need, contact the SCC Library for research help 24/7.

Search the Library Catalog to find books on Subjects like these:

  • Human-Animal Relationships
  • Child Custody
  • Single Parents
  • Grandparents as Parents
  • Cancer
  • Terminal Care
  • Death
  • Grief
  • Bereavement
  • Bereavement - Cross cultural studies
  • Types of Love
  • Automobile Racing
  • 21st Century Literature
  • Animals in Literature
  • Terminally ill -- Family relationships
  • Terminal illness 
  • Future life

(Don't forget to Search WIN Borrow Libraries to find books located at our partner libraries, Request items be sent to the SCC Library for you to pick up here!)

Titles pictured above:

On Grief and Grieving: Finding the Meaning of Grief through the Five Stages of Loss - Elisabeth Kübler-Ross
Call Number: 155.937 KUBLER 2007

The Art of Loving - Erich Fromm
Call Number: 152.41 FROMM 1989

The Powerful Bond between People and Pets: Our Boundless Connections to Companion Animals - Elizabeth P. Anderson
Call Number: 636.0887 ANDERSO 2008

 

eEncyclopedias

Search collections of several eEncyclopedias in the Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference from the Library Databases page to find statistics, topic overviews, research summaries, and references to other works you can use for further research.

Some of the encyclopedias you can search in the Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference:

  • Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development
  • Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender 
  • Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
  • International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

Databases & Periodical Articles

Search these Library databases for information about Stein, his book, and related topics. You'll find articles, book reviews, and interviews with the author, plus research information on all topics.

Here are some subjects you can use when searching the ProQuest database:

  • Widows & widowers
  • Single parents
  • Bereavement
  • Grief
  • Bonding, human-pet
  • Single parents AND Fathers
  • Single parents AND Grief
  • Single parents AND Grandparents
  • Pets AND Bonding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip