This is the "Research tools" page of the "Religion & Philosophy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Religion & Philosophy   Tags: afterlife, common text, death, ethics, hereafter, philosophy, religion  

Use these resources to research Religion, Philosophy, and related topics. Get research help 24/7 from the SCC Library homepage.
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/religion Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Research tools Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & eBooks

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. 

If you search by subject (rather than keyword) here are some subject headings to try:

  • Religion
  • Religions
  • God
  • Theology
  • Metaphysics
  • United States - Religion
  • Christianity
  • Catholicism
  • Islam
  • Judaism
  • Gautama Buddha
  • Philosophy
  • Ethics
  • Logic
  • Thought and thinking
  • Socrates

Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), an SCC Library database, is accessible using your SID as login

Reference books are on the 1st floor. These include subject encyclopedias which are a good starting point for research. Here are some print and ebook examples:

   

     Encyclopedia of Religion*       R 200.3 ENCYCLO 2005

   Encyclopedia of Religion in America*

     Encyclopedia of Philosophy     R 104 ENCYCLO 2006

     Encyclopedia of Bioethics*     R 174.957 ENCYCLO 2004

*These and other encyclopedias are available online in these SCC Library databases:

 Gale Virtual Reference Library

Credo Reference

  Library Databases (including articles)

From the SCC Library homepage choose                               

Databases by Subject, or try one of these databases:

Afterlife assignment

Students who are researching beliefs about the hereafter in various religions can use any appropriate resource on this page. Encyclopedias of religion may be particularly helpful. Search for information on a specific religion, and read the section on death or the afterlife. Some other searches to try:

  • Future life
  • Death
  • Dying
  • Afterlife
  • Death - Religious aspects

Or perhaps a particular term which refers to the afterlife like:

  • Christianity
  • Judaism
  • Heaven
  • Hell
  • Reincarnation
  • Valhalla

See also any appropriate books about:

  • world religions
  • comparative religion
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip