Skip to main content

Research (General): Where do I start?: Books, eBooks, and Videos

Tools you can use for researching any topic, plus tutorials on research, strategies for evaluating research sources, and how to get research help 24/7

Research Basics: Video tutorial

Finding Information: Books

From the SCC Library, this short video will tell you:

  1. Why you should use books when conducting research
  2. The types of books available to students
  3. The best kind of book to use when starting to research a new topic

 

SCC Library Catalog: Demo

Demonstration of the SCC/SFCC Library catlog, its features, how to request books from partner libraries, and searching for ebooks in the catalog.

 

 

Finding eBooks Using Library Databases: Demo 

Demonstration of how to find ebooks in the many SCC Library databases.

Books: Subject encyclopedias

Start your research by consulting subject encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias:

  • give you an overview of your topic
  • identify the major research and researchers
  • alert you to keywords to use in searches
  • list references to other works you can use in your research

Subject encyclopedias are located on the library 1st floor.

Here are some e-encyclopedia collections you can access online.

[You must access databases through the SCC Library homepage; login required off-campus.]

Books: Circulating

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Child development
  • Climatic change
  • Abortion
  • Alcoholism
  • Gates, Bill

eBooks

eBooks are accessible through several library databases.

 

To access library databases you must start at the library homepage. Most library databases contain ebooks. Check the full list of Databases by Subject to find a database on your topic, or use these frequently used All Subjects databases:

Want more? See more information about finding & accessing ebooks, e-audiobooks, streaming videos, and other media on this library guide:

Can't find it at SCC?

SCC students have access to many other library collections

SFCC Library

When you search the Library Catalog you may find books and videos located at SFCC.  To have an item sent to SCC for you, click the Request this item link in the Library Catalog.  If you like, you can visit the Falls Library to check-out books using your SCC student t ID card.

WIN Borrow libraries

The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of Inland Northwest libraries called WIN (Washington Idaho Network). WIN includes:

  • Gonzaga
  • Whitworth
  • North Idaho College and Lewis-Clark State College

You can use your SCC student ID card to borrow books from any WIN library. You can also search WIN Borrow Libraries in the Library Catalog then request that books be sent for SCC for you.

Interlibrary loan of materials from other libraries

If you want a book or periodical article that is not available at the SCC Library we can usually get it for you through interlibrary loan. We'll locate a library that owns the item you want then get it sent to the SCC Library for you to borrow. (Keep in mind that it could take ten days, two weeks, or longer for an item to arrive if it's coming from a library outside Spokane.) To request an item through interlibrary loan, contact the SCC Library.