This is the "Sustainability" page of the "Sustainability" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide contains information resources on all aspects of sustainability and the green movement.
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/sustainability Print Guide RSS Updates
Sustainability Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books & Videos

 

Use the Library Catalog to find books on specific subjects.  Here are some sustainability-related subjects to try:

  • ecological houses
  • ecotourism
  • environmental sciences - vocational guidance
  • environmentalism
  • green movement
  • green products
  • farmers' markets
  • sustainable agriculture
  • sustainable architecture
  • sustainable buildings
  • sustainable construction
  • sustainable development
  • sustainable forestry
  • sustainable living

 


Examples of books in the SCC Library:

 

75 Green Businesses You Can Start to Make Money and Make a Difference
(658.4083 CROSTON)


Food Matters: A Guide to Conscious Eating
(613.2 BITTMAN)


Green Building Fundamentals
(690.8047 MONTOYA)


Grub: Ideas for an Urban Organic Kitchen
(641.302 LAPPE)


Living Off the Grid
(640 BLACK)


Natural Remodeling for the Not-So-Green House : Bringing Your Home into Harmony with Nature
(643.7 VENOLIA) 

 

Welcome

Sustainability Research Guide 

 

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found in the library databases section of the SCC Library homepage. Access from off-campus will require entering your student ID number. 

Here are some databases that will include information on sustainability and related topics:

CQ Researcher
in-depth reporting on controversial topics; recent reports on "Buying Green", "Eco Tourism", and "Reducing Your Carbon Footprint"

Credo Reference
collection of online reference books covering many subject areas

Gale Virtual Reference Library
collection of online encyclopedias in a variety of subject areas

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
information on social issues with viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full text periodical articles

ProQuest
index to more than 5,500 magazines, journals and newspapers

Green Jobs

Check out the SCC Library's GREEN JOBS RESEARCH GUIDE.  It includes books, videos, articles and websites.

 

EcoCentric Blog - regarding sustainable food, water and energy

Loading Loading...
blank padding
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip