This is the "Home" page of the "Just War Theory" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Just War Theory   Tags: foreign relations, just war, military, wars  

This research guide will help you find information in books & videos, library databases, and websites
Last Updated: Oct 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.scc.spokane.edu/war Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Causes

Reference Books: Consult the reference books below or contact a librarian to find a general overview of a particular war which may include the causes or origins.

Circulating books: Search the Library Catalog for subjects like these:

  • World War, 1939-1945 - Causes
  • United States - History - Civil War, 1861-1865 - Causes
World War I Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 940.303 WORLD W 2005
Vol. 1, Page 3: Origins of World War I

Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History
Call Number: R 940.53 ENCYCLO 2005
Has essay in Vol.1 on Origins of the War

The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Call Number: R 973.303 ENCYCLO 2006
Vol. 1, Page 3: Origins of the American Revolution

Looking for a war to research?

The SCC Library has the following reference book which lists wars from throughout history and provides a brief description.

Dictionary of Wars (R 904.7 KOHN)

 You can also search Britannica Online.  This library database contains the full contents of the Encyclopedia Britannica.  Type "war" in the search box to find articles about various wars.

Another strategy might be to browse history books in the 900s section.  You will find history books that check out on the second floor and reference books on the first floor.

 

Books - Reference

Use Reference Books (located on the 1st floor) of Ethics, Philosophy, Military Science, Politics, Sociology, etc. to get an overview of your topic and to see references to other core research sources.

Dictionary of Wars
Call Number: R 304.7 KOHN

Political history of America's wars
Call Number: R 355.0097 AXELROD

Encyclopedia of ethics
Call Number: R 170.3 ENCYCLO v.2

Encyclopedia of philosophy
Call Number: R 103 ENCYCLO 2006

International encyclopedia of military history
Call Number: R 355.009 INTERNA

Gale Virtual Reference Library and Credo Reference
Call Number: SCC Library database of online encyclopedias
Use these two database to search 100s of electronic encyclopedias simultaneously. Login using your SID if you are off-campus.

 

DVDs & Videos

 

To find films in the SCC library, search the Library Catalog and add the word videorecording to your KEYWORD search.

(HINT: To find only films at the SCC Library, click the MORE LIMITS button in the Library Catalog, then select SCC Library as your Location.)

Why we fight
Call Number: 355.02 WHY WE (SCC NonPrint 1st Floor -- Library use only)

Dear America: Letters Home from Vietnam
Call Number: 959.70438 DEAR AM (SCC NonPrint 1st Floor -- Library use only)
Documentary using actual letters of the men and women who served there; also uses home movies, news footage and music of the period.

 

Books - Circulating

             

Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects. Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library. Try searches on subjects like these:

  • War
  • War and society
  • Military-industrial complex
  • United States--Foreign relations
  • United States-History
  • Military history

If books are located at other libraries click Request this item to have them sent to SCC for you. Remember to search WIN Borrow libraries to find 1000s more books.

Why nations go to war
Call Number: 909.82 STOESSI

Addicted to war: Why the U.S. can’t kick militarism: An illustrated exposé
Call Number: 355.0213 ANDREAS

The bomb: A new history
Call Number: 355.82511 YOUNGER

Bomb scare: The history and future of nuclear weapons
Call Number: 355.0217 CIRINCI

The book of war
Call Number: 355 BOOK OF

Man, the state, and war: A theoretical analysis
Call Number: 355.027 WALTZ

On the origins of war and the preservation of peace
Call Number: 355.02 KAGAN

Violent politics: A history of insurgency, terrorism & guerrilla war, from the American Revolution to Iraq
Call Number: 355.0218 POLK

War and its uses: Conflict and creativity
Call Number: 355.02 WAR AND

 

Articles & Databases

Use any Library Databases appropriate for your topic. There are databases which cover History, Science, Health, Art, and more. The General Research databases cover all topics. Databases may contain:
  • periodical articles
  • primary sources
  • book excerpts
  • multimedia (video, audio)

Suggested databases are listed below or choose from a list of SCC Library Databases by Subject

  ProQuest Periodical articles from journals, magazines, & newspapers; all topics (view ProQuest Tutorial)

  History in Context Articles, book excerpts, multimedia, primary sources, and more about History and related topics 

  Health Reference Center Academic Periodical articles on Health, Medicine, & Psychology topics

  ARTstor Art, Architecture, Photography, Social History images from all time periods and cultures

Databases like ProQuest allow you to do complex searching like combining several concepts in one search. Use some of these tricks to get better search results:


Search Tips

 Use quotes to enclose a phrase: "military industrial complex"       "just war"

  • Use the truncation trick to get various forms of similarly spelled words: hero*  (will retrieve: hero, heroes,  heroism, heroic, etc.)
  • Combine similar concepts using parenthesis and OR:      (heroism OR altruism)
  • Combine different concepts using AND: heroism AND females               

Combine several search techniques to get exactly what you want:

war AND christianity 

"vietnam war" AND ethics

"just war theory" AND catholicism

"war victims" AND children

(hiroshima OR nagasaki) AND cancer*

Work with a Librarian to choose databases & construct searches if you are not finding the what you need. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip