Skip to main content
library banner

Dracula and We Need to Talk About Kevin: Information Sources

Find credible sources that are appropriate for college-level research

Welcome!

This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites.

 

Dracula movie poster

DRACULA (1931). Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
quest.eb.com/search/144_1473500/1/144_1473500/cite. Accessed 6 Apr 2018.

Search Words

It's useful to keep a list of search words as you utilize various databases, indexes, and search engines.  Here are some to consider:

 

child psychology

developmental psychology

nature and nurture

attachment

parenting

child rearing

motherhood

fatherhood

empathy

violence in adolescence

violence in children

violence - psychological aspects

Interview with Lionel Shriver

Here's a 55 minute interview with the author of We Need to Talk About Kevin by the BBC.

Related Research Guides

SCC librarians have created two other research guides that you may want to check out:

Monsters: Frankenstein and Related Topics

School Shootings

Help with Research

You can get help with your research by chatting online with a librarian (available 24/7), by emailing it to us (available 24/7), or by calling the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821 during our normal business hours.

Citation Guides
How to cite sources, plus other writing assistance information.

Can't Find It at SCC?

When you use the search box on the SCC Library webpage you will retrieve materials that are available at both Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College.  After you do a search you can also use the dropdown menu to change "CCS Libraries" to "Partner Libraries." This will show books at Gonzaga University's Foley Library. The Community Colleges of Spokane and Gonzaga University have reciprocal borrowing privileges.

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC or at any of our partner libraries we can still get it for you.  You can request an interlibrary loan and we'll find the item for you wherever it's available.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Library Databases

Library databases contain information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They often include scholarly sources that are appropriate for college-level research.  You will find a complete listing of all library databases on the SCC Library homepage.  Below are selected databases recommended for researching topics related to Dracula and We Need to Talk About Kevin.


General background information:  These contain collections of reference books, including scholarly encyclopedias.

A sampling of articles from these databases:

Bateson, Patrick. "Nature–Nurture." Encyclopedia of Human Development, edited by Neil J. Salkind, vol. 2, Sage Reference, 2006, pp. 893-899. Gale eBooks.

Boisvert, Danielle, and Jamie Vaske. "Genetic Theories of Criminal Behavior." The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Jay S. Albanese, Wiley, 1st edition, 2014. Credo Reference.

Browning, John Edgar. "Vampire and Vampirism." Encyclopedia of American Studies, edited by Simon Bronner, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1st edition, 2016. Credo Reference.

Frick-Horbury, Donna. "Mother-child relationship." Psychology & Behavioral Health, edited by Paul Moglia, Salem, 2015. Salem Online.

"I. Nature and Nurture in Aggressive Behavior." Encyclopedia of the Human Brain, V. S. Ramachandran, Elsevier Science & Technology, 1st edition, 2002. Credo Reference.

McCrisken, Trevor B. "Exceptionalism." Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, edited by Richard Dean Burns, et al., 2nd ed., vol. 2, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002, pp. 63-80. Gale eBooks.  [The father character in We Need to Talk about Kevin is very clear that the U.S. is the best.  This concept in political science is called “American exceptionalism.”]


Articles from periodicals (popular magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers):  Although the first two databases are similar and have some overlapping coverage, each one also has unique content.  You may want to try searching both.

A sampling of articles from these databases:

Feder-Feitel, Lisa and Bruce D. Perry. "Raising a Nonviolent Child." Scholastic Parent & Child, vol. 9, no. 1, Sept. 2001, pp. 44-51. Academic Search Complete.

Moses, Tally. "Exploring Parents' Self-Blame in Relation to Adolescents' Mental Disorders." Family Relations, vol. 59, no. 2, 2010, pp. 103, ProQuest.

Seed, David. “The Narrative Method of Dracula.” Nineteenth-Century Fiction, vol. 40, no. 1, 1985, pp. 61–75. JSTOR.

Waller, Rebecca, et al. "Toward an Understanding of the Role of the Environment in the Development of Early Callous Behavior." Journal of Personality, vol. 85, no. 1, Feb. 2017, pp. 90-103. Academic Search Complete.


Dracula as literature:


Dracula and Its Times

Interested in learning about what was going on historically and culturally both during the time that the Dracula novel takes place and during the time it was written? Use this print reference book in the SCC Library (R 820.9 MOSS 1837-) or the identical Gale eBooks version:

Books

You can find books in the SCC and SFCC Libraries by using the Search box on the library webpage.  SFCC books can be requested online and sent to the SCC Library for pick up.

Here is a sampling of some books available on Dracula and vampires in the SCC Library:

  • Belford, Barbara. Bram Stoker: a Biography of the Author of Dracula. 1st ed., Knopf : Distributed by Random House, 1996. (823.8 STOKERZB 1996)
  • Brodman, Barbara, and James E. Doan. Images of the Modern Vampire: the Hip and the Atavistic. 2013. (398.45 IMAGES 2013)
  • Lynch, Jack. Critical Insights: Dracula, by Bram Stoker. Salem Press, 2010. (823.8 DRACULA 2010) [also available in the Salem Press library database]
  • Poole, W. Scott. Monsters in America: Our Historical Obsession with the Hideous and the Haunting. First paperback ed., 2014. (398.2454 POOLE 2014)
  • Senf, Carol A. Dracula: between Tradition and Modernism. Twayne Publishers, 1998. (823.8 SENF 1998)
  • Skal, David J. Something in the Blood: the Untold Story of Bram Stoker, the man who wrote Dracula. Liveright Publishing, 2016. (823.8 STOKERzs 2016)  -- also available on the library's Kindle and Nook ebook readers
  • Steinmeyer, Jim. Who Was Dracula?: Bram Stoker's Trail of Blood. Jeremy P. Tarcher/Penguin, 2013. (823.8 STEINME 2013)

 

Here is a sampling of some books available on topics related to child psychology in the SCC Library:

  • Barkley, Russell A., and Christine M Benton. Your Defiant Child: 8 Steps to Better Behavior. Second ed., 2013. (649.64 BARKLEY 2013)
  • Glasser, William. Unhappy Teenagers: a Way for Parents and Teachers to Reach Them. 1st ed., HarperCollins, 2002. (649.125 GLASSER 2002)
  • Harris, Judith Rich. The Nurture Assumption: Why Children Turn out the Way They Do. 1st Touchstone ed., Touchstone, 1999. (305.231 HARRIS 1999)
  • James, Oliver. Juvenile Violence in a Winner-Loser Culture: Socio-Economic and Familial Origins of the Rise in Violence against the Person. Free Association Books, 1995. (363.32 JAMES 1995)
  • Marcus, Gary F. The Birth of the Mind: How a Tiny Number of Genes Creates the Complexities of Human Thought. Basic Books, 2004. (155.7 MARCUS 2004)
  • Miller, Patricia H. Theories of Developmental Psychology. 4th ed., Worth Publishers, 2002. (155 MILLER 2002)
  • Neville, Helen, and Diane Clark Johnson. Temperament Tools: Working with Your Child's Inborn Traits. Rev. ed., 2015. (649.122 NEVILLE 2015)
  • Newton, Ruth P. The Attachment Connection: Parenting a Secure & Confident Child Using the Science of Attachment Theory. New Harbinger Publications, 2008. (649.122 NEWTON 2008)

 


" "

eBook Collection
This library database is a collection of around 150,000 ebooks that can be viewed online or downloaded to a mobile device. You will find numerous ebooks on vampires, Dracula, parenting, attachment, child psychology, nature and nurture, and many other related topics. Here are some examples:

Brodman, Barbara. The Universal Vampire: Origins and Evolution of a Legend. Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2013.

Dailey, Tahlia M. and Pacey H. Krause. Handbook of Parenting: Styles, Stresses and Strategies. Nova Science Publishers, Inc, 2009.

Day, William Patrick.Vampire Legends in Contemporary American Culture: What Becomes a Legend Most. The University Press of Kentucky, 2002.

Hughes, William. Bram Stoker's Dracula: A Reader's Guide Continuum, 2009.

Kagan, Jerome. The Temperamental Thread: How Genes, Culture, Time and Luck Make Us Who We Are. Dana Press, 2010.

Pearce, Colby. A Short Introduction to Attachment and Attachment Disorder. Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 2009.

Reference Books on Dracula and Other Monsters

The following books can be found in the Reference section of the SCC Library.  They do not check out, but sections can be copied with the library's free copy machine.         

Joshi, S. T. Icons of Horror and the Supernatural: an Encyclopedia of Our Worst Nightmares. Greenwood Press, 2007. (R 809.9164 ICONS O 2007)  [volume 2 includes a chapter on Dracula]

Moss, Joyce. Literature and Its Times. 2002. (R 809.93358 LITERAT 1997) [article on Dracula gives the historical context] - this source is also available in the Gale eBooks database

Westfahl, Gary. The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy : Themes, Works, and Wonders. Greenwood Press, 2005. (R 809.915 GREENWO 2005)