Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Architectural Technology: Research Tools

Books and ebooks

Book cover: Towards Zero Energy Architecture Book cover: Basic Perspective Drawing Book cover: Steel Structures

Find circulating books on the library 2nd floor in these general call number areas:

 

  • Architecture - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 720
  • Construction & building materials - - - -  620, 690
  • Sustainability - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 333, 363, 690
  • Human Engineering (Ergonomics) - - - - 613, 620

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects.

You'll find print books and some ebooks on topics like these:

  • Architecture
  • Architecture, Domestic
  • Architecture, Standards
  • Architectural design
  • Architectural drawing
  • Building
  • Buildings
  • Building laws
  • Building materials
  • Barrier-free design
  • Computer-aided design
  • Earth construction
  • Human engineering
  • Mechanical drawing
  • Perspective
  • Strains and stresses
  • Straw bale houses
  • Structural analysis (engineering)
  • Sustainable architecture
  • Symbolism in architecture
  • Architecture - Italy
  • Historic buildings - Italy
  • Architecture, Modern - 21st century

Reference books like these are located on the Library 1st floor.

 

  • International Building Code             R 343.7307 INTERNA
  • A Global History of Architecture      R 720.9 CHING 2007
  • Dictionary of Art (34 volumes)         R 703 DICTION 1996
  • Architectural Graphic Standards     R 721.0222 RAMSEY 1994

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) is an SCC Library database.

Here are just a few example ebook titles:

  • Careers in Architecture
  • Careers in Residential Architecture
  • Architectural Robotics: Ecosystems of Bits, Bytes, and Biology
  • Bike Lanes Are White Lanes: Bicycle Advocacy and Urban Planning
  • Advances in Green Science, Engineering, and the Built Environment
  • Water-resistant Design and Construction: An Illustrated Guide to Preventing Water Intrusion, Condensation and Mold
  • Design-build Project Delivery: Managing the Building Process from Proposal through Construction

Book: Example titles from the SCC Library collection

Periodicals (newspapers, magazines, trade & scholarly journals)

SCC Library has magazines, trade publications and other periodicals which students may borrow. Many periodical articles are also available online in SCC Library databases like Associates Programs Source Plus and ProQuest and Academic Search Complete.

Print periodicals in the library:various journals in a pile: JAMA, Horticulture, Sustainability, and others

  • Architectural Digest (current 3 years)
  • Art in America (1996 - present)
  • Fine Homebuilding (1991 - present)

Examples of periodicals in Associates Programs Source Plus

  • Architectural Digest (HTML only; no images)
  • Architectural Record (HTML only; no images)
  • Architectural Review (HTML only; no images)
  • IUP Journal of Architecture (PDF available)

Examples of periodicals in ProQuest or Academic Search Complete:

  • Advances in Building Energy Research
  • Architect
  • Architectural Engineering and Design Management
  • Architectural Review (PDF available)
  • Architectural Theory Review
  • Architecture
  • Architecture Australia
  • arq: Architectural Research Quarterly (PDF available)
  • Building Design
  • The Canadian Architect
  • Design Issues
  • E: The Environmental Magazine
  • Environmental Design + Construction
  • Frontiers of Structural and Civil Engineering
  • Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering

Finding articles in library databases

Search in library databases to find articles on a topic of your choice.
Here are some search techniques you may use in Associates Programs Source Plus, ProQuest, and Academic Search Complete

KEYWORDS: Use keywords in your searching. Select words you predict will appear in an article title or description.

PHRASES: Use phrase searching for a phrase of two words or more. Enclose a phrase in quotation marks.

TRUNCATION: Truncate search terms using and asterisk. The search term:  fabricat*  will retrieve instances of any word starting with f-a-b-r-i-c-a-t, like fabricate, fabricator, fabricating, etc.

BOOLEAN OPERATORS: Combine multiple search concepts using Boolean terms: AND, OR, NOT

Example searches:

cladding

"straw bale construction"

"green architecture"   AND   cladding

"employee retention"  AND  "small business"

"lean manufacturing"  AND  "mechanical engineering"

"green design"  AND  roof*

"green roof"  OR  "roof gardens"

LEED   AND  (architecture OR building)

Annual issue: Building the Inland Northwest

periodical cover of Building the Inland Northwest, from the Journal of Business

Each year in March, the Journal of Business publishes a special issue called Building the Inland Northwest.

This issue features news about residential, commercial, and educational building in the Inland Northwest and covers related topics like:

  • Market overview of the area's construction industry
  • Transportation and planning
  • Industry trends
  • Sustainability and LEED

Heavy-equipment dealers list:

Building the Inland Northwest includes a list of area heavy-equipment dealers listing number of employees, services offered, and types and brands of equipment sold.


Find this periodical in the library's periodicals room in the boxes marked "Journal of Business." It will be located in the March issue.