Skip to main content
library banner

BT 273 - Spring 2020: Business Research & Report Writing

You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

How Crises Affect Businesses and Organizations

The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Janelle Brooke’s BT 273 class find relevant and useful information sources for their research assignment.  This is not intended to be a comprehensive list of sources.  You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

 

GENERAL SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept) - try combining some of these words and the ones listed below for specific research questions

emergency management / crisis management

disasters / crisis / emergencies / coronavirus / covid-19 / pandemic

organizational behavior / organizational change / business continuity

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Scholarly Encyclopedias - concise, general background information; articles often written by experts who are university professors

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Books

 

GENERAL TIPS

  • use quotation marks to keep phrases together:  "working from home' , "public relations", "mental health"
  • if you have too many results when using the library research databases try changing the search fields (see examples below for specific research questions)

Welcome!

 (COVID-19) illustration

COVID-19 Virus

Contacting Tim

Feeling frustrated?

Not finding what you need?

Having trouble using the library databases?

Not sure which search words to use?


Then it’s probably time to a
sk a librarian for some help.

Tim Aman, Reference Services Librarian
tim.aman@scc.spokane.edu

You can contact Tim by using the “Ask Your Librarian” discussion board in the Canvas BT 273 course.

And you can request a Zoom video conference for synchronous (real time) interaction and screen sharing.

Evaluating information and domain searching

WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.

  • Who's the author?  Is the author an expert?
  • What's the nature of the information?  Is it objective or biased?  Is it based on careful research?
  • When was it written?  Is it appropriately up-to-date?

Note:  These questions are simplistic. If you need help thinking through the evaluation process, ask a librarian or your instructor.


Domain Searching

Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information.  Here's a search example:

"working from home" crisis site:.edu

Public Relations Messaging

Question:  How should professional offices approach PR (public relations) messaging during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept)

public relations / media / communication

corporate image / reputation

When searching library databases or the Internet combine these words with the general search words at the top of this page.  For example:

disasters AND corporate image

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Periodicals (magazines, scholarly newspapers, newspapers)

Search example 1 (note that the search field has been changed to Subject Terms)

Academic Search Complete search example 1

 

Search example 2 (note that the search field has been changed to Subject Terms)

Academic Search Complete search example 2

Books

Selected ebooks from the eBook Collection library database:

Crisis, Issues and Reputation Management: A Handbook for PR and Communications Professionals

The Indestructible Brand: Crisis Management in the Age of Social Media

Leadership  in the Eye of the Storm: Putting Your People First in a Crisis

The Manager's Guide to Handling the Media in Crisis: Saying and Doing the Right Thing When It Matters Most

Responding to Crisis: A Rhetorical Approach to Crisis Communication - see chapter 15

 

INTERNET

Sample Google search:

"public relations" crisis site:.edu  [quotation marks keep the words together as a phrase; search results will be limited to .edu sites]

Harvard Business School, Working Knowledge - "Avoiding PR Disasters"

Employee's Mental and Physical Health

Question:  How should professional offices approach their employees' mental and physical health during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept)

health / mental health / trauma / post traumatic stress

employee / workplace

When searching library databases or the Internet combine these words with the general search words at the top of this page.  For example:

crisis AND mental health AND employees

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Periodicals (magazines, scholarly newspapers, newspapers)

Search example (note that the search fields has been changed to Anywhere except full text -- wonder why? Ask a librarian)

ProQuest search example

Books

Selected ebooks from the eBook Collection library database:

Leadership  in the Eye of the Storm: Putting Your People First in a Crisis

Principles and Practice of Business Continuity: Tools and Techniques - see Appendix C, Working with People

Workplace Trauma: Concepts, Assessment and Interventions

 

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

employees health pandemic site:.edu  [search results will be limited to .edu sites]

employees "mental health" coronavirus  [note the quotation marks keep words together as a phrase]

U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration - "How to Plan for Workplace Emergencies and Evacuations"

Washington State Department of Health - "Workplace and Employer Resources & Recommendations"

Working from Home

Question:  How should professional offices approach WFH (working from home) during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS  (grouped by concept)

work from home / working from home / home offices / telecommuting / remote

employer / human resources / HR

tips / recommendations / advice

When searching library databases or the Internet combine these words with the general search words at the top of this page.  For example:

crisis AND "work from home" AND employer AND recommendations

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Background Information from Reference Databases

  • Gale eBooks - article on "telecommuting" in Encyclopedia of Business and Finance

Periodicals (magazines, scholarly newspapers, newspapers)

Search example (note where the search fields has been changed to Subject Terms)

Associates Programs Source Plus search example

Books

Business Continuity Management: Global Best Practices - p. 187

Principles and Practice of Business Continuity: Tools and Techniques - p. 105

 

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

remote workforce crisis

"work from home" employer tips   [quotation marks keep the words together as a phrase]

"work from home" employer "best practices"

crisis "working from home" site:.edu   [search results will be limited to .edu sites]

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) - "Remote Work Resource Page"