Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BT 273 - Spring 2021 - Hilton: Business Research & Report Writing

You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

How Crises Affect Businesses and Organizations

The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Samantha Hilton’s BT 273 class find relevant and useful information sources for their research assignment.  This is not intended to be a comprehensive list of sources.  You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

 

GENERAL TIPS 

  • Start by writing down search words that describe the elements of your topic.  Add to the list as you read through sources and come across new words.  Try different combinations of words when you search the library databases and Google.
  • You should be able to get most of your information from these three sources:
  1. SCC Library's eBook Collection database (hint: click on a book title to see a short description; click on the Table of Contents to see what's included in the book, if there's an Index you can look up specific topics)
  2. SCC Library's periodicals databasesAcademic Search Complete, Associates Programs Source Plus, ProQuest
  3. Google - be sure to evaluate anything you find to make sure it is appropriate for this assignment (you will find more information on how to evaluate sources elsewhere on this guide)
  • Try these search techniques when using the SCC Library databases:
  1. Phrase searching - use quotation marks to keep words together as a phrase, for example: "working from home", "public relations, "mental health"
  2. Wild card searching - use the asterisk to search for various forms of a word, for example: vaccin* will retrieve vaccine, vaccines, vaccinate, vaccinated, vaccination
  3. Field searching - if you have too many results try specifying which "fields" should be searched; fields include: article title, subject, article summary, etc.

 

Welcome!

 (COVID-19) illustration

COVID-19 Virus

Contacting Tim

Feeling frustrated?

Not finding what you need?

Having trouble using the library databases?

Not sure which search words to use?


Then it’s probably time to a
sk a librarian for some help.

Tim Aman, Reference Services Librarian
tim.aman@scc.spokane.edu

You can contact Tim by using the “Ask Your Librarian” discussion board in the Canvas BT 273 course.

And you can request a Zoom video conference for synchronous (real time) interaction and screen sharing.

Evaluating information and domain searching

WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.

  • Who's the author?  Is the author an expert?
  • What's the nature of the information?  Is it objective or biased?  Is it based on careful research?
  • When was it written?  Is it appropriately up-to-date?

Note:  These questions are simplistic. If you need help thinking through the evaluation process, ask a librarian or your instructor.


Domain Searching

Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information.  Here's a search example:

"working from home" crisis site:.edu

Evaluating Sources for Credibility - North Carolina State University Libraries

PUBLIC RELATIONS MESSAGING

Question:  How should professional offices approach PR (public relations) messaging during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept)

public relations / media / communication

corporate image / reputation

disasters / crisis / pandemic / COVID / coronavirus

When searching library databases or the Internet try different combinations of words.  For example:

"public relations" AND "corporate image" AND COVID

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Search example 1 (note that the search field has been changed to Subject Terms)

Academic Search Complete search example 1

 

Search example 2 (note that the search field has been changed to Subject Terms)

Academic Search Complete search example 2

Books

Selected ebooks from the eBook Collection library database:

Blindsided: A Manager's Guide to Crisis Leadership - see 5.1.2 "Giving Information Out: Keeping Control of the Message"

Crisis, Issues and Reputation Management: A Handbook for PR and Communications Professionals

Corporate Conversations: A Guide to Crafting Effective and Appropriate Internal Communications - see chapter 8 "Communicating Bad News"

The Indestructible Brand: Crisis Management in the Age of Social Media

Leadership in the Eye of the Storm: Putting Your People First in a Crisis - see the section beginning on p. 55 "Our Communication Needs in a Crisis"

The Manager's Guide to Handling the Media in Crisis: Saying and Doing the Right Thing When It Matters Most

Managerial Communication - see chapter 11 "Crisis Communication"

Responding to Crisis: A Rhetorical Approach to Crisis Communication - see chapter 15

 

INTERNET

Sample Google search:

"public relations" crisis site:.edu  [quotation marks keep the words together as a phrase; search results will be limited to .edu sites]

Harvard Business School, Working Knowledge - "Avoiding PR Disasters"

Harvard Business Review - "Crisis Communication: Lessons from 9/11"

Harvard Business Review - "Communicating Through the Coronavirus Crisis" 

EMPLOYEES' MENTAL AND PHYSICAL HEALTH

Question:  How should professional offices approach their employees' mental and physical health during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept)

health / mental health / trauma / post traumatic stress

employees / workplace

crisis / disasters / COVID / coronaviruspandemic

When searching library databases or the Internet try different combinations of words.  For example:

"mental health" AND employees AND COVID

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Search example (note that the search fields has been changed to Anywhere except full text -- wonder why? Ask a librarian)

ProQuest search example

Books

Selected ebooks from the eBook Collection library database:

Leadership  in the Eye of the Storm: Putting Your People First in a Crisis

Principles and Practice of Business Continuity: Tools and Techniques - see Appendix C, Working with People

Workplace Trauma: Concepts, Assessment and Interventions

 

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

employees health pandemic site:.edu  [search results will be limited to .edu sites]

employees "mental health" coronavirus  [note the quotation marks keep words together as a phrase]

U.S. Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration - "How to Plan for Workplace Emergencies and Evacuations"

Washington State Department of Health - "Workplace and Employer Resources & Recommendations"

Kaiser Family Foundation - “The Implications of COVID-19 for Mental Health and Substance Use”   

Centers for Disease Control - "Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) - Stress and Coping"   

Society for Human Resources Management - "Pandemic Takes a Toll on Employees’ Emotional Well-Being"  

American Psychological Association - "Psychologists’ advice for newly remote workers"  

American Psychological Association - "APA COVID-19 Information and Resources"  

WORKING FROM HOME

Question:  How should professional offices approach WFH (working from home) during an organizational crisis?

 

SEARCH WORDS  (grouped by concept)

work from home / working from home / WFH / telecommute / telework / remote work

crisis / disaster / COVID / pandemic

policy / guidelines / effectiveness / productivity

When searching library databases or the Internet try different combinations of words.  For example:

"working from home" AND COVID AND productivity

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Background Information from Reference Databases

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Search example (note that the search fields has been changed to "Anywhere except full text" -- this searches for the words in the article title, subjects, and summary)

ProQuest search example

Books

Business Continuity Management: Global Best Practices - p. 187

Principles and Practice of Business Continuity: Tools and Techniques - p. 105

CQ Researcher - report on "Telecommuting: Is Work From Home Productive?"

 

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

remote workforce crisis

"work from home" employer tips   [quotation marks keep the words together as a phrase]

"work from home" employer "best practices"

crisis "working from home" site:.edu   [search results will be limited to .edu sites]

American Psychological Association - "The Future of Remote Work"

The Atlantic - "The Coronavirus Is Creating a Huge, Stressful Experiment in Working From Home

The Brookings Institution - "Telecommuting will likely continue long after the pandemic

REFUSAL TO VACCINATE OR MASK

Question:  How should professional offices approach employee or customer refusal to vaccinate or mask?

SEARCH WORDS (grouped by concept)

vaccine / vaccinate / vaccination / mask / face covering

employee / employer / customer

refuse / require / mandatory / hesitancy

COVID / coronavirus

When searching library databases or the Internet combine these words.  For example:

vaccine AND employee AND mandatory AND COVID

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Background Information from Reference Databases

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Search example (note that the search fields has been changed to "Anywhere except full text" -- this searches for the words in the article title, subjects, and summary)

Books

Selected ebooks from the eBook Collection library database:

Anti/Vax: Reframing the Vaccination Controversy

Calling the Shots: Why Parents Reject Vaccines

Vaccine: The Debate in Modern America

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

mask customers refuse site:.gov  [search results will be limited to .gov sites]

covid vaccine employee mandatory site:.edu  [search results will be limited to .edu sites]

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - "Limiting Workplace Violence Associated with COVID-19 Prevention Policies in Retail and Services Businesses"

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - "Workplace Vaccination Program"

Harvard Law School, Bill of Health - "Can Employers Mandate a Vaccine Under Emergency Use Authorization?

Society for Human Resource Management - "How Do You Require Customers to Wear Masks Without Endangering Employees?"

Washington State Coronavirus Response - "Business and Employers"

BUSINESS REOPENING

Question:  How should professional offices approach reopenings?”

SEARCH WORDS  (grouped by concept)

reopen*

crisis / disaster / COVID / pandemic / crisis management

business / business continuity

When searching library databases or the Internet try different combinations of words.  For example:

reopen* AND business AND COVID

 

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Search example:

Associate Programs Source Plus search example

Books

Search example [Note that the search fields for the first two terms have been changed to "subject" and the search field for the third term has been changed to "all text fields."]

eBook Collection database search example

Selected ebook from the eBook Collection database:

Business Continuity Management: Building an Effective Incident Management Plan

 

INTERNET

Sample Google searches:

business reopening tips site:.org  [search results will be limited to .org sites]

business reopening site:.gov  [search results will be limited to .gov sites]

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - "Workplaces and Business: Plan, Prepare, and Respond"

SCORE Association - "Checklist: How to Reopen Your Small Business After the Coronavirus Shutdown…and Stay Open"

U.S. Chamber of Commerce - "Reopening Business: Digital Resources Center"

Washington Governor Jay Inslee - "COVID-19 Reopening Guidance for Businesses and Workers"