Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BT 273 - Spring 2022 - Brooke: Business Research & Report Writing

You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

Employee Retention

The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Janelle Brooke’s BT 273 class find relevant and useful information sources for their research assignment.  This is not intended to be a comprehensive list of sources.  You will find suggestions on search words, library databases, source evaluation and selected source examples.

 

GENERAL TIPS 

  • Start by writing down search words that describe the elements of your topic.  Add to the list as you read through sources and come across new words.  Try different combinations of words when you search the library databases and Google.
  • You should be able to get most of your information from these three sources:
  1. SCC Library's ebook databases (eBook Collection and ProQuest eBook Central) - hint: Click on a book title to see a short description. Scan through the Table of Contents to see what's included in the book, if there's an Index you can look up specific topics.
  2. SCC Library's periodicals databasesAcademic Search Complete, ProQuest, Gale Academic OneFile, Gale Business: Entrepreneurship, Gale OneFile: Business
  3. Google - be sure to evaluate anything you find to make sure it is appropriate for this assignment (you will find more information on how to evaluate sources elsewhere on this guide)
  • Try these search techniques when using the SCC Library databases:
  1. Phrase searching - use quotation marks to keep words together as a phrase, for example: "employee retention", "corporate culture, "labor turnover"
  2. Wild card searching - use the asterisk to search for various forms of a word, for example: work* will retrieve: work, worker, workers, working, workplace
  3. Field searching - if you have too many results try specifying which "fields" should be searched; fields include: article title, subject, article summary, etc.

Contacting Tim

Feeling frustrated?

Not finding what you need?

Having trouble using the library databases?

Not sure which search words to use?


Then it’s probably time to a
sk a librarian for some help.

Tim Aman, Reference Services Librarian
tim.aman@scc.spokane.edu

You can contact Tim by using the “Ask Your Librarian” discussion board in the Canvas BT 273 course.

And you can request a Zoom video conference for synchronous (real time) interaction and screen sharing.

Evaluating information and domain searching

WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.

  • Who's the author?  Is the author an expert?
  • What's the nature of the information?  Is it objective or biased?  Is it based on careful research?
  • When was it written?  Is it appropriately up-to-date?

Note:  These questions are simplistic. If you need help thinking through the evaluation process, ask a librarian or your instructor.


Domain Searching

Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information.  Here's a search example:

"employee retention" stress site:.edu

Evaluating Sources for Credibility - North Carolina State University Libraries (3:15)

Search Words

Here are some examples of words to try.  Keep a list of words that work best for your topic

employee retention

employee motivation

employee morale

job satisfaction

workplace culture / corporate culture

labor turnover / employee turnover

employee selection

stress / wellness / work-life balance

When searching library databases or the Internet try different combinations of words.  For example:

"employee retention" AND "corporate culture"

Reference Books

There are two library databases that contain articles from reference books, including scholarly encyclopedias.  These articles are often good starting points for your research.  They are concise and authoritative (often written by experts in the field).

"Employee Retention"

"Work/Personal Life Balance"

"Workplace and Fitness"

"Retaining Women in the Workplace"

"Onboarding New Employees Successfully"

"Job Satisfaction"

eBooks

There are two SCC Library databases that contain ebooks.

eBook Collection - a sampling of titles:

Allen, David G. 2012. Managing Employee Turnover: Dispelling Myths and Fostering Evidence-Based Retention Strategies. Vol. 1st ed. Human Resource Management and Organizational Behavior Collection. [New York, N.Y.] [222 East 46th Street, New York, NY 10017]: Business Expert Press. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=493224&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Branham, Leigh. 2012. The 7 Hidden Reasons Employees Leave: How to Recognize the Subtle Signs and Act Before It’s Too Late. Vol. 2nd ed. New York: AMACOM. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=502106&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Chapman, Gary, and Paul White. 2019. The 5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace: Empowering Organizations by Encouraging People. Vol. Updated Edition. Chicago: Northfield Publishing. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1842183&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Chester, Eric. 2020. Fully Staffed: The Definitive Guide to Finding & Keeping Great Employees. Shippensburg, PA: Sound Wisdom. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=2361796&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Fuller, Catherine, Phil Taylor, and Kath Wilson. 2019. A Toolkit of Motivational Skills: How to Help Others Reach for Change. Vol. 3rd edition. Chichester, West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=2149080&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Harpelund, Christian, Morten T. Højberg, and Kasper U. Nielsen. 2019. Onboarding: Getting New Hires off to a Flying Start. Vol. First editon. [Bingley] United Kingdom]: Emerald Publishing Limited. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1906370&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Hom, Peter W., David G. Allen, and Rodger W. Griffeth. 2020. Employee Retention and Turnover: Why Employees Stay or Leave. Vol. First edition. Series in Applied Psychology. New York, NY: Routledge. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=2239211&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Rogers, Colene. 2020. Retention: Key Mindsets That Retain Top Talent. Oviedo, Florida: HigherLife Publishing. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=2488597&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Rowe, Kim, and Patrick Howell. 2014. The Positive Workplace. Infoline. Alexandria, VA: Association For Talent Development. https://ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=802232&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

ProQuest eBook Central - a sampling of titles:

Devine, Marion, Michel Syrett, and The Economist. 2014. Managing Talent: Recruiting, Retaining, and Getting the Most from Talented People. New York: PublicAffairs. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=1801694&ppg=1

Finnegan, Richard. 2015. The Stay Interview: A Manager's Guide to Keeping the Best and Brightest. Nashville: AMACOM. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=1964257&ppg=1

Goldstein, Harold W., Elaine D. Pulakos, Carla Semedo, and Jonathan Passmore. 2017. The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of the Psychology of Recruitment, Selection and Employee Retention. Hoboken: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=4860506&ppg=1

Holbeche, Linda, and Geoffrey Matthews. 2012. Engaged: Unleashing Your Organization's Potential Through Employee Engagement. New York, NY: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=837621&ppg=1

Morgan, Jacob. 2017. The Employee Experience Advantage: How to Win the War for Talent by Giving Employees the Workspaces They Want, the Tools They Need, and a Culture They Can Celebrate. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=4817840&ppg=1

Narayanan, Akila. 2014. Gamification for Employee Engagement. Birmingham: Packt Publishing, Limited. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=4872207&ppg=1

Phillips, Jack J., and Adele O Connell. 2011. Managing Employee Retention: A Strategic Accountability Approach. Burlington: Taylor & Francis Group. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=472859&ppg=1

Taylor, Lisa. 2017. Retain and Gain: Career Management for Small Business Playbook. Toronto: CERIC. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=6361407&ppg=1

Ventrice, Cindy. 2009. Make Their Day!: Employee Recognition That Works: Proven Ways to Boost Morale, Productivity, and Profits. Oakland: Berrett-Koehler Publishers, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=483763&ppg=1

Wride, Matthew, and Tracy Maylett. 2017. The Employee Experience: How to Attract Talent, Retain Top Performers, and Drive Results. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/spokanecc/reader.action?docID=4788161&ppg=1

Periodicals

Periodicals include popular magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade journals.  Here are some library databases that include articles from periodicals:

Databases that cover all subject areas:

Business-specific databases:

Academic Search Complete - Sample Search

Academic Search Complete sample search

Notice that the search above uses phrase searching (quotation marks) and field searching (selecting Subject Terms from the dropdown menu).

A Sampling of articles from Gale OneFile: Business:

Abbasi, Sami M., and Kenneth W. Hollman. "Turnover: The Real Bottom Line." Public Personnel Management, Fall 2000, 333. Gale OneFile: Business (accessed March 25, 2022). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A71065997/ITBC?u=spok_33383&sid=bookmark-ITBC&xid=7644cb14.

"Attracting And Retaining Right Talent In The Hybrid Workplace." Business World, January 3, 2022, NA. Gale OneFile: Business (accessed March 25, 2022). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A688502642/ITBC?u=spok_33383&sid=bookmark-ITBC&xid=29004191.

"Employees are leaving left and right. What's a company to do?" Rochester Business Journal, March 7, 2022, NA. Gale OneFile: Business (accessed March 25, 2022). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A696340687/ITBC?u=spok_33383&sid=bookmark-ITBC&xid=d6723349.

Cowart, Lynn. "Why employee morale matters--especially now: The solution to engagement and retention issues is the ability of the manager to truly understand what is in the hearts and minds of their employees." The Public Manager, Spring 2014, 48+. Gale OneFile: Business (accessed March 25, 2022). https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A365111108/ITBC?u=spok_33383&sid=bookmark-ITBC&xid=9069c0ac.