Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Topics Related to Neuroplasticity, Time Management, Goal Setting, etc.
Image Source: Clinical Diagnosis, Boston University
Steps in the Research Process
Is this your first time doing research? Just follow these eight steps.
make sure you understand the assignment
clearly state your topic
think about the search words you will use
select the library research databases you will use
search for and select your sources
collect the citations for your MLA bibliography
take notes from your sources
create your presentation
Not finding what you need?
Having trouble using the library databases?
Then it’s probably time to ask a librarian for some help.
Tim Aman, SCC Librarian
If you need immediate help, contact a librarian any time using our online chat service.
(Evenings and weekends you may be chatting with a librarian from another college. Ask for an SCC librarian to contact you for follow-up if needed.)
Recommended Sources and Searching Tips
The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Renee Kenney's ESL class find credible and academic information sources. This guide will suggest useful sources, search techniques and evaluation methods for researching your topic.
When searching for information consider trying related words. For example, when researching neuroplasticity you might try using these words:
- neuroplasticity, brain, brain plasticity
- learning, memory, language learning, second language
- Library databases have features to create MLA citations automatically.
LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES
Reference Books (including encyclopedias) - concise, general background information; articles often written by experts who are university professors
Periodicals - magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals
Cultures & Countries
- eBook Collection - 150,000 ebooks selected for college and university researchers
Don't worry about reading a whole book. Just look for small bits of information that you can use for your research. Here's a search example in the eBook Collection:
Evaluating information and domain searching
WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.
- Who's the author or organization responsible for the information? Does the author or organization have expertise?
- What's the nature of the information? Is it objective (based on facts) or biased (based on opinion)? Is it supported by careful research?
- When was it written? Is it appropriately up-to-date?
Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information. Here are a couple of search examples:
neuroplasticity and language learning site:.gov
time management and college students site:.edu