SCC ABE OER Basics Guide: OER starting points

Non-profit site with free audiobooks, including classics, novellas, short stories, intermediate, and advanced.

"These educator-reviewed resources from TeachersFirst offer audio books with accompanying text so all students, including emerging readers and ESL/ELL learners, can experience literature and other reading selections in audio form as they reinforce and inspire literacy skills and enjoyment. Be sure to explore each site, as many include multiple types of activities, including the audio books and texts."

Downloadable ebooks for English learners, 7 Secrets for ESL Learners and Minimal Pairs (with audio)

Includes "print and go" ESL downloadable workbooks. Not eligible for print on demand.

Digital audiobooks, ebooks, and podcasts. Searchable and browsable by trending, top-rated, and genres.

Free public domain audio books that have been recorded by volunteers.

Download hundreds of free and openly licensed audio books, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer. Includes fiction, poetry, and non-fiction.

Tip: Before clicking on this link, first log into your TCC Canvas faculty account and open up Canvas Commons. OER Canvas course shared by Grays Harbor College instructor, 2019. "Grammar 1 5-week course online." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. Public domain license.

Created by Portland Community College instructors, published by Open Oregon. "Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL [...] The grammar section includes a select set of YouTube videos, and the three original readers include short picture or chapter stories. Each lesson is accompanied by self-correcting exercises." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

5-level textbook series for ESL students: Beginning, High Beginning, Low Intermediate, High Intermediate, and Advanced. Created by Don Bissonnette at South Seattle College. Each level has a comprehensive, downloadable textbook in an editable Word file. Licensed under a CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Clackamas Community College instructors, 2021. Created for community college ESOL students "who need only a review of the BE verb and are ready to learn the simple present and present progressive tenses." Organized into 4 chapters: BE Verb in the Simple Present, Present Progressive, Simple Present, Simple Present & Present Progressive. Online, PDF, e-book formats. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

“This is a collection of cumulative units of study for conventional errors common in student writing. It’s flexible, functional, and zeroes in problems typically seen in writing of all types, from the eternal “there/they’re/their” struggle to correct colon use. Units are organized from most simple to most challenging.” A “cheat sheet” is also included at the end of the textbook. Available in multiple formats, including PDF, online, eBook, and ePub. 2016, Columbia Gorge Community College. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) Eligible for Print on Demand.

A suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Lumen Learning course. "Whether planning a paper, running a grammar check, completing a report, composing an email, puzzling over a usage or grammar issue, or writing a resume or online portfolio, you are bound to find the material and examples you need in Style for Students Online." Includes modules on sentence structure, puncutation, commonly misused terms, using sources, and sample writing documents/assignments. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but each page may have additional or different licenses.

Univ. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2016, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Includes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.

Readings and exercises “aimed at helping students understand the basics of sentence structure and overcome some of the more common errors in writing." Scottsdale Community College. Word file downloads. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

“This is a course of lessons and practice on the system of English. It is divided into eighty-six sections. Each section covers an area of basic grammar and contains a number of exercises.” Designed with mobile technology in mind. CC BY 3.0, can download source code for everything; link to units and practice examples; or download PDF and Word versions of each section. Online lessons and practice examples

Freely available grammar resources online but not openly licensed. Includes vocabulary, exercises, handouts, presentations, videos, tips and rules, and more.

Curriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12. Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users. Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide).

Excellent grammar worksheets, including listening exercises. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Grammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.

Adult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Created by Denise Ranney and published by Whatcom Community College, 2018. Organized into 6 lessons about Washington state history: Our Land, Our Native American Heritage, Cultural & Economic Change, Our State Government, Local Governments, and Current Economy. Online format. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) format. Eligible for Print on Demand.

HS curriculum project, begun in 2015, by Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction in partnership with the Federally Recognized Tribes in Washington State. Although developed for HS-level, some resources could be used or adapted for community college courses/topics. Focuses on Washington state tribal perspectives on U.S. History and Contemporary World Problems. Each unit includes curriculum downloads and related ancillary resources, including videos, maps, activities, and guides (available on right-hand columns). CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Browse "Helpful Handouts" developed for educators with activities, lesson plans, and resources for teaching and learning about Native Americans. Part of the Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian site. Much of the museum's content is licensed with a CC0 (Creative Commons Zero) public domain license; otherwise, educational use is encouraged with attribution.

Michele Miller and Anne Greenhoe, Portland State University Library, 2018. "This Open Access Textbook will guide students through their English language to academic degree studies [...] Key elements include culture and expectations in an American university, transferring academic skills from ESL to content-specific academic courses, and helpful exercises to be academically successful." Eligible for Print on Demand.

Grace Tanaka, California Department of Education grant, 2003. “This material is for low beginning/literacy ESL students who need life skill instruction. There is a teacher's manual, student book, blackline masters and audio for every lesson.” Click the "See old layout" link to view files. CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Shawn Higgins, Temple University, 2021. "[D]esigned to help first-generation, first-year, English language learners, and/or culturally unfamiliarized students more fully and successfully explore their educational environments. By using this book, students will be better prepared for the academic and social challenges of successfully undertaking higher education in English." Organized into 21 chapters. Faculty reviews on this site. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Timothy Kochem; Monica Ghosh; Lily Compton; and Elena Cotos, Iowa State University, 2020. "This textbook includes materials on listening, speaking, lexicogrammar, pragmatics, and pronunciation." Organized into sections and integrated activities for Segmentals, Word Stress, Thought Groups, Prominence, and Intonation. Each section includes a Teacher's Corner. Online and Common Cartridge formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Created by ESL faculty at Lane Community College. "We created this site to share the lesson plans and other materials that we use in this Listening/Speaking Level F class with other ESL teachers -- click around and use what works for you! This is a 10-week course at LCC, but you can pick and choose from the 8 chapters for a shorter or longer term." Each class topic is theme-based, with videos, lesson plans, and slides.

Della Jean Abrahams, Portland State University, published 2017, updated 2019. "This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter includes listening and speaking components such as dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web." Faculty peer reviews available of this text. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Podcast and video series that “offers challenging listening opportunities for upper intermediate to advanced learners and fascinating topics to do with the English language and culture.” Available as YouTube videos or mp3 podcasts. Can embed or download videos into Canvas courses. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution).

Created by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Excellent grammar worksheets, including listening exercises. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Grammar, reading, listening exercises (web-based, not printable). Free to use but not openly licensed.

Tip: Before clicking on this link, first log into your TCC Canvas faculty account and open up Canvas Commons. OER Canvas course shared by Grays Harbor College instructor, 2020. "Transitions Math I course is comprised of six modules that focus on arithmetic: whole numbers, fractions (2 modules), decimals, ratios and proportions, and percents. Most lessons have a pretest, video lesson(s), follow up quiz(zes) and homework. At the end of each module, there is a practice test and answer key. The module does not include the module tests or the final exam. The course is designed for GED students, high school completion students, and students brushing up for the college placement test." Includes modules, assignments, quizzes, and discussions. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Adult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

OER textbook by Morgan Chase, Clackamas Community College, published by Oregon State University, 2021. "This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students." Organized into 30 modules, from "Order of Operations" to "Standard Deviation." Includes exercises and exercise answers for each module. Online, PDF, and e-book formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

"This text will help the student develop the insight and intuition necessary to master arithmetic techniques and manipulative skills." 11 chapters. Peer reviews of the text are available on this site. Online, PDF, and offline zip file formats available. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2013. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 11 weeks. CC BY SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) license.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2014. Student workbook, worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license.

Materials developed by Scottsdale Community College instructors for developmental math sequence, 2015. Student workbook, mini-lesson worksheets, practice problem worksheets, and mini-lesson videos, organized into 12 weeks. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license.

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Biggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. Look on the left column for links to Math subjects, including Grades 1-5, Arithmetic, Measurement, and more. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

“ABCya is the leader in free educational computer games and mobile apps for kids. The innovation of a grade school teacher, ABCya is an award-winning destination for elementary students that offers hundreds of fun, engaging learning activities.” Free online games for Pre-K through 5th grade. Alphabet, numbers, money, geography, parts of speech, typing, technology vocabulary, skills -- INCLUDES MATH! Holiday themed games available. No charge to use on PCs. Mobile-friendly version requires a subscription

Created by Portland Community College instructors, published by Open Oregon. "Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL [...] The grammar section includes a select set of YouTube videos, and the three original readers include short picture or chapter stories. Each lesson is accompanied by self-correcting exercises." Online, PDF, and EPUB formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Lumen Learning course. Organized into 8 modules, including "What It Means to be a Good Reader," "Active Reading," "Critical Reading," "Reading to Respond," and more. Each module includes discussion boards and assignments. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but each page may have additional or different licenses.

Online course “focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” 2019, Lumen Learning. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

A suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Lumen Learning. Online reading anthology organized into three modules/levels with openly licensed/public domain readings. Each level includes both creative and non-fiction readings. Online format, also includes a PDF for offline use or file. Course has a CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license overall, but please note that each page of this open course lists specific attributions at the bottom of each page, which may have different licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple file formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success. Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Julie Hovden, Anh Nguyen, & Aivee Ortega, College of the Canyons, 2020. Organized into 13 lessons, including lessons for successful learning strategies, active listening, reading to learn, etc. PDF format via Google Drive. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

KPU Learning Centres and Christina Page, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (Canada), 2018. Developed as part of a KPU Learning Centres series of tutoring and academic skills workshops. "Interactive workshop guides you through a series of videos and exercises to help you read efficiently and purposefully." Organized into 9 sections. Online format. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license.

Developed by Portland State University instructor, 2019. A collection of 20 reading passages that are 200-225 words, with comprehension quizzes. Online, PDF, and editable formats. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

OpenLearn, 2018. “This unit introduces you to the role that English plays in the world today, and examines the social, political and cultural factors that have influenced its development.” Available as web page (linked to separate chapters/sections or as a single page) or e-book download. Licensed under CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

CK-12, student version, last updated 2021. "The Basic Speller is intended as a spelling program for elementary-level spelling and consists of eight volumes of 48 lessons each. It offers the students lessons and practice dealing with the relationships between sounds and their spellings. "CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

CK-12, teacher version, last updated 2021. Covers elementary-level spelling. Organized into 16 modules with lessons. CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license.

Phonics study units with slides, worksheets, and audio versions. “The goal of this program is to provide a bridge for those students with limited literacy skills so that they are able to move on to a more traditional beginning ESL class.” 2017. CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Readings, lessons, videos, and games for spelling. Can integrate CK-12 content into Canvas via an app. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial).

Adult Education section for CK-12, began 2021. "The CK-12 Foundation and the Outreach and Technical Assistance Network (OTAN) have partnered together to create this space on the CK-12 platform to support adult educators and learners." Includes several Math options for ABE textbooks; High School Diploma textbooks for U.S. History, U.S. Government, Economics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Pre-Algebra, and Algebra 1; and High School Equivalency textbooks for Foundational Math, Algebra Basics, Geometry, Statistics, and Science. A free log-in is required to browse these resources. Online + PDF formats; can be integrated into Canvas via a CK-12 app. CK-12 curriculum materials license is equivalent to CC BY NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

TED-Ed videos are short, award-winning animated videos about ideas that spark the curiosity of learners everywhere. This link takes you to technology-themed TED-Ed videos and lessons. Many TED-Ed videos come with integrated lesson plans with discussion starters and activities.

A resource of educational web tools and mobile apps for teachers and educators. Everything on this site is licensed under a CC BY NC ND (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - No Derivatives license, meaning you can download, print, share or distribute it the way you want provided as long as you include a link back to the blog, keep it free of charge, and use it only for educational purposes.

CK-12 is probably the biggest open content provider for K-12 STEM content. CK-12 provides standards-aligned teaching resources. Content is mapped to a variety of levels and standards, including common core.

Video series from REEP, the Arlington Education and Employment Program of Arlington, Virginia, showing different ways to incorporate smartphones in adult ESL instruction. Each video is 3-4 minutes long and highlights student projects and activities.

This instructor's blog includes a variety of teaching materials. Many of them are geared at a beginning and intermediate level and are suitable for ESL students of many ages. The instructor's research interests are in language center studies and computer-assisted language learning (CALL).

Timothy Krause, Portland Community College. "This book contains 10 easy picture stories for beginning students of English. The stories have a Lexile level of 100L-500L and address common home and school situations. Each story includes images, self-correcting comprehension exercises, and a conversation prompt." (Creative Commons - Attribution - CC BY 4.0 license ). Eligible for Print on Demand.

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Growing site that offers several new articles each month summarizing news from around the state. Specifically created for ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and ABE (Adult Basic Education) instructor who want to use news stories and current events as content for teaching reading. Stories are labeled with word count and Lexile level (a measure of degree of difficulty), and grouped into beginner, intermediate, or advanced levels. Each story includes a related image or video, a set of online self-correcting exercises created using H5P technology, a PDF version of the text suitable for printing, and a list of sources. CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike)

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

“Each unit begins with a chapter of fiction about a teacher and students in one ESL class. Reading comprehension and reading skills exercises follow. Prefix and suffix vocabulary-focus exercises are included. Academic Word List vocabulary exercises help students build a strong foundation in both receptive and productive knowledge.” 2016, Portland State University (PDX). Written by an ESL instructor using examples for Portland, but the examples can be revised. CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world. 5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories. Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

Created by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA. Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California. Videos hosted on YouTube and range from 1-5 minutes. Videos have closed captioning. CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Discussion starters, reading, vocabulary on many different topics. Free to use but not openly licensed.

Inés Poblet, Whatcom Community College, 2021. "This OER text includes the following: an introduction to creating a collectivist culture to support learning models and activities about multiple ways of organizing ideas in an essay; short readings and discussion highlighting the work of community organizers, activists, and social justice movements; writing prompts that ask learners to synthesize, reflect on, and connect to the topics; projects inviting learners to apply the content to their community environment; additional resources offering multiple modalities for further learning including videos, articles, and podcasts; a contrastive and multilingual approach to exploring grammar patterns to support writing." Organized into 7 main chapters, including an appendix about Decolonizing ELT. Online, PDF, and LMS course formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Developed by Portland Community College instructor, 2018-2019. Sites includes "ESOL Writing 6: Paragraph to Essay Workbook" and "ESOL Writing 8: Academic Essays and Research." PDF and Word versions for each workbook. ESOL Writing 8 includes chapter slideshows. . CC BY (Creative Commons Attribution) license & CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Textbook and course, revised edition Sept. 2018. Written by a community college instructor in Oregon. Materials for ESOL learners with intermediate-high writing skills to help transition to college-level composition courses. Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework. Each unit previewable on website; files linked to Google Docs. CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.

A suite of ESL OER materials developed by Rebecca Al Haider, Reedley College, 2021. Includes: Intermediate Academic Grammar, Intermediate Reading and Writing, High-Intermediate Academic Grammar, Advanced Academic Grammar, as well as ESL YouTube playlist. Each text available in PDF and Word formats. CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Created by California Community College instructors, 2020. "This book has been created to provide a framework for building your skills in writing and critical thinking. It provides access to published samples from professional authors along with essay drafts from ESL students who have polished their skills in their respective writing courses." Organized into 4 main sections: The Writing Process, Sentence Structure, Literary Analysis, and Critical Thinking and Reading. Appendices include sample essays from ESL students. Faculty peer reviews of this text available on this site. Online and PDF formats. CC BY-NC-SA (Creative Commons - Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Georgia State University, 2018. "[D]esigned as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments." Accessible PDF and Word formats. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Athena Kashyap & Erika Dyquisto, City College of San Francisco, 2020. Funded by an ASCCC grant. "The goal for this textbook was to revise and adapt the open educational resource (OER) textbook, Writing for Success [...] We succeeded in meeting our goal by adding additional scaffolding for developmental and ESL learners to help them with reading, writing, and college success skills; materials for learning in multiple modalities; teacher resources; and expanded materials about the reading and writing process. This in-depth revision allowed us to combine pre-collegiate level English instruction along with first year composition materials." Organized into 12 chapters, including a grammar chapter. Integrates checklists and exercises throughout. Online, PDF, print book files, and LMS course formats. CC BY-NC (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Lumen Learning course that "introduces students to the writing process as a means of developing ideas into clear, correct, and effective writing." Organized into 9 modules, each with assignments and discussion boards. Course overall has CC BY (Creative Commons - Attribution) license, but each page may have additional or different licenses. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Univ. of Minnesota, originally published 2015, updated 2019. "[P]rovides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition." Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar. Multiple file formats available to download and edit. CC BY NC SA (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial) license. Eligible for Print on Demand.

Includes a chapter on Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges, as well as other chapters on basic grammar. 2016, Klamath Community College in Oregon. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

Includes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section. last updated 2021, Wikibooks. Online, printable, and PDF versions available. CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike) Eligible for Print on Demand.

Online course “focuses on helping students identify and apply foundational concepts and skills in reading and writing.” 2019, Lumen Learning. CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution). Eligible for Print on Demand.

3 flexbook textbooks currently available: Commonsense Composition, The Glyfada Method, and Journalism 101. CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Curriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12. Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users. Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide).