Research Guides: National Hispanic Heritage Month: Home

Celebrate NHHM

From September 15 to October 15 each year, the United States celebrates National Hispanic Heritage Month to pay tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively enriched our nation and society.

Websites on Hispanic Heritage in the US

National Hispanic Heritage Month
Links to several US Government departments that sponsor National Hispanic Heritage Month and its website.
US Department of Education
Scroll down the US Department of Education's website for a list of many Hispanic Heritage Month resources.
US Census NHHM statistics
The US Census provides statistics on people of Hispanic descent who are living in the US and contains links to more US Government NHHM websites.

Hispanic Heritage Books in the SCC Library

The following are just a few books on Hispanic American heritage to checkout from the SCC Library:

Chicano! : the history of the Mexican American civil rights movement by Francisco A. Rosales
Call Number: 973.046872 ROSALES 1996
ISBN: 9781558852013
The Crusades of Cesar Chavez : a biography by Miriam Pawel
Call Number: 331.8813 CHAVEZzp 2014
ISBN: 9781608197101
The food and life of Oaxaca, Mexico : traditional recipes from Mexico's heart by Zarela Martínez
Call Number: 641.5972 MARTINE 1997
ISBN: 9780028603506
Living beyond borders : growing up Mexican in America by Margarita Longoria
Call Number: 810.8086 LONGORI 2021
ISBN: 9780593204979
Once I Was You by Maria Hinojosa
Call Number: 920.5 HINOJOS 2020
ISBN: 9781982128654
Yo no soy tu perfecta hija mexicana by Erika L. Sánchez
Call Number: 863 SANCHEZ 2018
ISBN: 9780525564324

Online resources from the SCC Library

The SCC Library subscribes to several online databases that provide students and faculty with immediate access to hundreds of ebooks, videos and news articles. You may log on to the library website and view these resources from anywhere.

To access the SCC databases, go to the SCC Library website and click on Databases A-Z. Click on a database to open it, and sign in with your student or faculty email address and password.

The following are just a few of the many online resources from the SCC Library databases that celebrate Hispanic Heritage:

Carmen Tafolla: New and Selected Poems by Carmen Tafolla
Carmen Tafolla was named Poet Laureate of Texas in 2015. This collection displays her mastery of the art of bilingual code switching, mining the riches of two languages—Spanish and English—to produce works that celebrate the beauty and vigor of a Hispanic heritage that has enriched American culture for generations.
El Mariachi
A traveling mariachi is mistaken for a murderous criminal and must hide from a gang bent on killing him. Access from the SWANK Top 500 video database. Sign in with your campus email and password.
Fluid borders: Latino power, identity, and politics in Los Angeles by Lisa García Bedolla
An in-depth perspective on the factors affecting the political engagement of a segment of the population that is now the nation's largest minority."
Hispanics and the American Future by Marta Tienda and Faith Mitchell
A description of the US Hispanic population, from the perspectives of history, demography, geography, education, family, employment, economic well-being, health, and political engagement.
Recognizing Heritage: The Politics of Multiculturalism in New Mexico by Thomas H. Guthrie
Multiculturalism and colonialism have overlapped in New Mexico since the nineteenth century. Guthrie analyzes the ongoing struggles over land, water, and identity.
Stand and Deliver
A true story about a teacher and the unmotivated East Los Angeles high school students who he inspires, badgers, threatens and humors into learning. Access from the SWANK Top 500 video database. Log in with your campus email and password.

Adjunct Librarian

Mary Porter

Email Me

Contact:

509-533-8821