Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the Library Catalog to look for books on specific subjects.
If you search by subject (rather than keyword) here are some subject headings to try:
Frenchlanguage--Conversation and phrase books--English
(If you find books or videos located at SFCC, you can request that items be sent to SCC for you to pickup, or you can go directly to SFCC and borrow items using you student ID card.)
Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.
Books in the eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) are accessible using your SCC student network username and password as a login.
Reference books are on the SCC Library 1st floor. These include subject encyclopedias which are a good starting point for research. Here are some examples:
Encyclopedia of Contemporary French Culture
R 944.08 ENCYCLO 2002
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
R 394.12 ENCYCLO 2003
Additional encyclopedias are available online in the SCC Library databases.
Recommended Web Sites
BBC - Languages - French
French lessons for beginners and intermediates with many audio and video resources
FORVO: All the Words in the World, Pronounced: French
Click an audioclip to listen to how to pronunciation a word.
Created by the Cultural Services is a division of the French Embassy in the United States; provides the latest news on arts, education, and culture including: books, films, grants, the French language and studying in France.
French in Action
Online video French language course.
French Language Course
Self-paced course for learning French
Basic French vocabulary and grammar tools
Learn to Speak French
A language exchange website where you will be connected with a French-speaking language partner to practice communicating in French via email and chat.
Resources for Learning French
Reviews a variety of websites and other resources useful to those who want to learn French
RFI - Learn French Online
A French broadcast station offering a number of online resources for French language learners.
Tex's French Grammar
A light-hearted approach to learning the French language.
Links to live television broadcasts from countries around the world
Includes a French dictionary with over 120,000 words and more than 250,000 translations
Databases & Other Resources