Allied Health: Invasive Cardiovascular Technology

This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites. 

Source: NIH Image Bank

Use the search box on the library website to look for books (and videos) available in the SCC (and SFCC) Libraries. 

Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

You'll find health and medical books in this Dewey Decimal area:

610 - 619

Books specifically related to cardiology are in this area:

616.12

eBook Collection
collection of around 150,000 ebooks that can be viewed online or downloaded to a mobile device

Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Here are some examples:  

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found by clicking Research Databases on the SCC Library homepage.  Here are some databases that may be useful for researching topics related to respiratory care:

Academic Search Complete
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

CINAHL Complete
articles in nursing and allied health journals

Cochrane Library
evidence-based health care information, including reports on the effectiveness of different medical treatments and interventions

MICROMEDEX
primarily a source of drug and disease information for healthcare professionals, also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients called CareNotes System

ProQuest
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

Many SCC Library databases will prompt you to login. If this occurs, use your Bigfoot username and password:

If you are unable to login, contact a librarian as soon as possible. Librarians will make sure you are able to login.

Working Environment

CathLab.com
includes Internet resources in the field of cardiac & vascular technology, as well as a chat room and message board

Professional Societies

Alliance of Cardiovascular Professionals
has been in existence for many years and serves the field through its efforts; it is for cardiovascular technologists working in the cath lab

Cardiovascular Credentialing International
the body administering the registry exam for cardiovascular professions; it is responsible for evaluating the minimum entrance competencies for cath. lab personnel; the invasive credential is the RCIS (Registered Cardiovascular Invasive Specialist)

American Heart Association
has a wide range of activities from CPR to physician continuing education and heart disease research

American College of Cardiology
a physician organization rallying cardiologists to fight the nations number one killer, heart disease; the ACC organizes research and educational conferences in a multitude of area

Heart Rhythm Society
has physicians and technologists in its membership; the organization is involved with credentialing and education related to treatment of cardiac electrical disturbances

Medical Equipment

Boston Scientific
makes a wide variety of devices from balloons to open arteries to intravascular ultrasound to see through the walls of arteries from within

Medtronic
started as a pacemaker company; it has moved into many other cardiology product arenas including endovascular stents

Medical Literature

PubMed / Medline
index to medical literature worldwide
Note: This is a huge database. It includes citations to journal articles from around the globe and in many different languages. You may want to limit to articles in English and those that are available "free full text."

When you use the search box on the SCC Library webpage you will retrieve materials that are available at both Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College.  Sign ino your account in order to request books from the SFCC Library.  Change the dropdown menu from CCS Libraries to Partner Libraries to see materials tthat are available at Gonzaga University and a few other area institutions.

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC or at any of our partner libraries we can still get it for you.  You can request an interlibrary loan and we'll find the item for you wherever it's available.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

The SCC Library has several ways to help you with research and citations:

Come in to the SCC Library Reference Desk during business hours

Call the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821

Send an email to the SCC Reference Desk at SCC.Reference@scc.spokane.edu

Open the SCC Library Start Your Research web page, find the online chat widget (available 24/7).