Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Monsters: Frankenstein and Related Topics: Resources for Instructors

Research Frankenstein, monsters, myths, and related topics using these and other SCC Library resources including books, periodical articles, and credible websites. Need research help? SCC Library Ask-A-Librarian chat is available 24/7.

Open Courseware & Other OER

OpenCourseWare Consortium is an open courseware aggregator. Search it and similar repositories of OER (Open Educational Resources) or ask a librarian for help in discovering and selecting learning resources to enhance your course.

Utilize freely available, shared teaching resources below from Notre Dame and other colleges and universities. Open courseware may include any or all of the following: syllabi, readings, assignments, lecture notes, videos of lectures, tests and quizzes, and more.

Example searches: try typing Mary Shelley or typing Frankenstein in the search box to find courses like these:

Archives

Find hundreds of primary, secondary, and other sources in the Shelley archives collections of NYPL and the Oxford Bodleian Library.
Of possible interest as well might be archives on the history of medicine.

More from the National Library of Medicine

Information for Higher Education instruction accompanies this exhibit, Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature.

Included are three instructional modules authored by Susan E. Lederer, Ph.D., Professor of the History of Medicine and Bioethics at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health

Unit 1. The Natural Sciences and Mary Shelley’s Milieu

Unit 2. Medicine, Science and Cinema in the 20th-century Frankenstein

Unit 3. The Franken-Factor in Contemporary Biomedicine

Articles from ERIC (database of education literature)

[Note:  ERIC has some restrictions on full-text articles; request articles from the SCC Library if you prefer.]

From the library homepage, scroll down and click on the Research Databases link. Click on All Subjects and select Education. Open ERIC to search journals, digests, and other documents in the education field. To find articles about teaching Frankenstein in the college classroom or related topics, type in the search terms: Frankenstein and "Higher Education").

Examples:

The Right, the Wrong, and the Ugly: Teaching Shelley's Several "Frankensteins."

Considers how teaching Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein" creates special problems--and thus affords special opportunities--not encountered in the reading of or critical response to this text. Discusses different editions of "Frankenstein" and reasons for using them. Notes that "Frankenstein" is a story that appeals to all kinds of students.

A Class at Mount Holyoke College Uses "Frankenstein" as a Tool for Teaching Student Multimedia Techniques.

A Mount Holyoke College (Massachusetts) class on computer applications in history and the humanities, entitled "Frankenstein Meets Multimedia," uses topics from the 1818 novel as the basis for students to develop multimedia compact disks about it.

"A Bird in the Hand Is a Certainty, but a Bird in the Bush May Sing": Description of a Literature Course about Humans and Nature Using a Curriculum of Inclusion.

A literature course developed at the College of Staten Island concerns the human experience with other animals and the environment. Recently, the course has been significantly altered in line with insights gained through participation in a faculty seminar on the topic of inclusion of the "other." ... At the course's inception, students are asked to write 10 sentences beginning with "Nature is..." and 10 beginning with "Humans are..." Student reactions to assigned readings demonstrate the students' ability to focus closely on the themes of the course. (A list of the required texts for the course is attached to the article.)

Prophecy, Pulp, or Punt: Science Fiction, Scenarios, and Values. (Full text PDF)

A brief history of science fiction and an analysis of its functions precedes a description of a university level course taught at Trinity University on science fiction, technology, and values. Science fiction writing is briefly traced from Mary Shelley's “Frankenstein" through the golden age of science fiction to its increasing sophistication in the 1970s. … An end-of- semester survey revealed that 83 percent of students agreed that the course had helped them articulate their views on technology and values.

Also...

Try a Google or Google Scholar search on "lesson plans" and "Frankenstein" to find other teaching resources being shared by instructors.