Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Medical Assistant: Research Guide

Use this guide to find information in books, library databases, and websites.

Medical Assistant Program at SCC

Reference Books

Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Here are some examples:  

Career & Employment

Career information from the American Association of Medical Assistants


Certification Exam Review 
book available on reserve at the Checkout Desk:

Certification flash review and practice exams available in this SCC Library database:

Learning Express Library logo

Can't Find it at SCC?

When you use the search box on the SCC Library webpage you will retrieve materials that are available at both Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College.  Sign ino your account in order to request books from the SFCC Library.  Change the dropdown menu from CCS Libraries to Partner Libraries to see materials tthat are available at Gonzaga University and a few other area institutions.

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC or at any of our partner libraries we can still get it for you.  You can request an interlibrary loan and we'll find the item for you wherever it's available.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Welcome

Information Sources for
Medical Assistants

This Research Guide will help you find information in
books, library databases, and websites

Female medical assistant wearing scrubs. Photography. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.
quest.eb.com/search/154_2884149/1/154_2884149/cite. Accessed 5 Jun 2017.

Finding Books

Use the SCC Library's Search Box to find books in the SCC & SFCC Libraries.

 

EBSCO eBook Collection logo

The SCC Library's eBook Collection database contains around 150,000 books, including medical coding, HIPAA, and many medical texts.

 

Here's a sampling of some books available in the SCC Library:

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found by clicking the Research Database tile on the SCC Library homepage.  Here are some databases that may be useful for researching topics related to the duties of a medical assistant:

Academic Search Complete
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

Alexander Street
streaming videos, including topics for medical assistants on documentation, HIPAA, cultural awareness, professionalism, infection control, and measuring vital signs

CINAHL Complete
articles in nursing and allied health journals

Cochrane Library
evidence-based health care information, including reports on the effectiveness of different medical treatments and interventions

Micromedex
primarily a source of drug and disease information for healthcare professionals, also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients called CareNotes System

ProQuest
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

Websites

Medical Literature

Pub Med logo

PubMed / Medline
index to medical literature worldwide
[Note: This is a huge database. It includes citations to journal articles from around the globe and in many different languages. You may want to limit your search to English language articles and those that are available "free full text."]

 

MedlinePlus
reliable, up-to-date patient-level information from the National Library of Medicine

 


Professional Societies
 

AAMS logo

American Association of Medical Assistants
The mission of the American Association of Medical Assistants is to provide the medical assistant professional with education, certification, credential acknowledgment, networking opportunities, scope-of-practice protection, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.

 

MA Education Review Board

Medical Assisting Education Review Board
The Board makes recommendations for the status of accreditation of medical assisting programs. 

 

Washington State Society of Medical Assistants
It is the purpose of the Society is to promote the professional growth of medical assistants through continuing education in clinical and administrative skills and knowledge in keeping with current trends in the medical arena.