Skip to Main Content

CMST - Public Speaking: Research Tools

Try the selected resources on this page, and contact a librarian right away if you don't find what you need.

Hand with pen drawing Need to cite your sources? All library databases have citation generators, and librarians can help you cite any source.

24/7 Help

Encyclopedias & other general databases

Encyclopedias & other general databases are a great place to start your research.

You'll find all types of information sources:

images
video & audio clips
excerpts from books
articles from periodicals
maps and primary sources

There are two ways to explore databases:

Search for information on your topic
Browse a wide variety of topics: BIOGRAPHY, HISTORY, ART, etc.

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
(Use MS browser or FireFox. This database does not work in Chrome.)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current & controversial topics
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window

Countries & cultures

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
A to Z the World This link opens in a new window
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window

Biography

Gale eBooks: Biography
Online collection of Biography encyclopedias purchased by the SCC Library

History

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Ancient and Medieval History Online This link opens in a new window
Thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the 1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.
Issues & Controversies in American History This link opens in a new window

Medical

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
(Includes GRAPHICS)
You will be asked to register prior to use.

Gale eBooks: Medical Encyclopedias

AJN: American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new window
Considered the premier journal in nursing. Contains articles which are peer-reviewed and evidence-based.