Welcome

Controversial Issues Research Guide

This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites.

Books

Use the Search Box on the library homepage to look for books on specific subjects.

Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

Reference books are on the 1st floor. These include specialized encyclopedias. They are often good starting points for research. Here are some examples:

Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right (R320.03 ENCYCLO)

Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia (R361.973 SOCIAL)

The following encyclopedias are available in the Gale eBooks library database:

cover of Encyclopedia of Bioethics

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (R174.957 ENCYCLO)

cover of Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues

Encyclopedia of Social Problems

You'll find the following books in the library database called Credo Reference:

Culture Wars in America: an Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices

Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia

Library Databases

From the SCC Library homepage choose Research Databases, or try one of these databases:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
in-depth reporting on controversial topics
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
collection of online reference books; including Culture Wars: an Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
collection of online reference books; including the Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues and the Encyclopedia of Social Problems
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
information on social issues with viewpoint essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and full text magazine and newspaper articles
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
index to over 5,500 magazines, journals and newspapers

Websites

Websites for exploring Controversial Issues

Hot Topics Guide
from O'Keefe Library, St. Ambrose University, Iowa
ProCon.org
controversial issues presented in a balanced, comprehensive, straightforward, and primarily pro-con format

Help with Research

You can get help with your research by chatting online with a librarian (available 24/7), by emailing us (scc.reference@scc.spokane.edu), or by calling the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821 during our normal business hours.

Citation Guides
How to cite sources, plus other writing assistance information.

Search Tip

Keep in mind that searching for the words "pros" or "cons" will not always find information on a particular side of a controversial issue. Consider using words like:

support, supporters, advocates, in favor of, benefits, advantages

oppose, opponents, opposition, disadvantages, risks, consequences

Can't Find It at SCC?

SFCC materials

When you use the search box on the Library webpage you may find books and videos on your topic at SFCC. You can request that those materials be sent to SCC for you to pick up. If it's convenient to stop by the Falls Library, you'll just need your student ID card or picture ID for check out.

Materials at other libraries

If you find a reference to a book or periodical article that does not seem to be available at SCC, we can get it for you. We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan. Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Controversial Issues: Home