Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electrical Trades

Research resources, tips, and support from SCC librarians

Example articles for APLED 121 trade journals assignment

If you didn't easily find an interesting article when searching library databases, feel free to select from this curated list.

2020

2019

2018

2017

Search techniques

To efficiently search library databases, use filters within the database and try search terms you think might be in the article's title, description, or full-text.

Techniques you can use to create database searches:

  • KEYWORDS

Use keywords in your searching. Select words or phrases which you predict will appear in an article title or description or full-text.

  • PHRASE SEARCHING

 Enclose a phrase (a string of 2 or more words) in quotation marks. Example: "global warming"

  • TRUNCATION

Truncate (cut off) search terms using an asterisk. The asterisk works as a wildcard. The search term:  recyc*  will retrieve articles which contain any word starting with r-e-c-y-c, like recycle, recycled, recycling, etc.

  • BOOLEAN OPERATORS

Combine multiple search concepts using the Boolean terms: AND, OR, NOT

Example searches

e-waste

e-waste  AND recycling

"electronic waste" 

"radio frequency identification systems"

"photovoltaic power systems"

"photovoltaic cell design"

"surveillance systems"  AND installation

 circuits

"arc flash" AND prevention

"waste energy"

"solar roadways"

"rfid systems"

"rfid systems" AND inventory

"photovoltaic power" AND trends

"photovoltaic power" AND green  

"employee retention"

"programmable controllers" AND trends

"control systems" AND "energy efficien*"

"solid state electronics" AND motors

"biomedical equipment" AND "battery maintenance"

If you're searching for articles about sustainability or related topics, here are some search terms to try.

sustainability                  ecology

recycling                          rooftop gardens

green                               buying local

greening                          alternative fuels

green buildings              waste disposal 

green design                  electronic waste 

e-waste                            solar power

renewable resources

renewable energy

energy conservation

energy consumption

corporate social responsibility

biodegradable materials

environmental impact

environmental protection

Try searching within a particular periodical

This search example from the library database Associates Programs Source Plus shows one way to limit your search to a single periodical.


"Electrial Apparatus" in the Publication AND (renewable OR greening OR conservation)  Anywhere


In this example, we're asking the database to search in the Publication Title called Electrical Apparatus for all articles which contain the words renewable OR greening OR conservation located anywhere in the article.

Questions about research, citation, login, or other?

 Contact a librarian any time!