Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fluid Power

Research resources, tips, and support from SCC librarians

About this page

So that students can practice finding information in library databases, SCC librarians have given suggestions below of:

  • recommended databases
  • example searches

SCC Library 24/7 live chat

Keep in mind that searching may or may not be simple, depending on the information you're looking for.

You may always ask an expert researcher for help. College librarians are happy to help you 24/7!

Strategic searching

When conducting research, it's a good idea to use a variety of types of information sources. 

A simple strategy is to start by searching:

  1. encyclopedias dedicated to a broad discipline  (These give you background information, like an overview and history of a topic.)
  2. books dedicated to single topic  (These give you in-depth information on a topic.)
  3. periodical articles  (These often discuss narrow topics, trends, and news.)

"Which database should I use?"

Encyclopedias databases

eBook databases

Periodical article databases

Example research topics

Your APLED instructor has given you some example presentation topics. We'll use these when exploring how to search library databases.

Example topics:

  • Robotics in automation
  • GPS on construction equipment for site work
  • Fixed displacement pumps vs variable volume pressure compensated pumps
  • Fluid power in our daily lives
  • Energy recovery systems on diesel vehicles
  • Closed loop controls vs open loop controls
  • Fluid power control in hydroelectricity
  • Hydraulic vs pneumatic applications

"What search terms should I use?" encyclopedias & ebooks

When searching encyclopedia and ebook collections, try search terms which describe a broad topic.

Here are example topics and searches:

fluid power control in hydroelectricity

 Example searches:    

  • hydroelectricity
  • "hydroelectric power"
  • dams

robotics in automation

  • robotics  AND  automation

fluid power in our daily lives

  • "fluid power"
  • "fluid mechanics"
  • hydraulics
  • pneumatics

closed loop controls vs open loop controls

  • "closed loop"  AND  "open loop"

fixed displacement pumps vs variable volume, pressure compensated pumps

  • pumps
  • "displacement pumps"
  • "hydraulic machinery"

"What search terms should I use?" periodical articles

When searching periodical article indexes (like ProQuest & Associates Programs Source Plus), use search terms which describe a narrow topic.

Here are some example topics and searches:

GPS on construction equipment for site work

  • "construction equipment"  AND  gps

energy recovery systems in diesel vehicles

  • "energy recovery"    AND  "diesel motors"
  • "heat recovery"    AND  "diesel motors"
  • "energy recovery"    AND  vehicles

closed loop controls vs open loop controls

  • "closed loop"  AND  "open loop"

fixed displacement pumps vs variable volume, pressure compensated pumps

 Example searches:    

  • "fixed displacement"  AND  pumps
  • "variable volume"  AND  pumps
  •  "pressure compensated"  AND  pumps
  • "pressure compensated"  AND  valves
  • "pneumatic control valves"

 

Fluid power control in hydroelectricity

  • hydroelectricity
  • "hydroelectric power"
  • "hydraulic control systems"  AND "energy recovery"

Questions about research, citation, login, or other?

 Contact a librarian any time!