Skip to main content
library banner

Monsters: Frankenstein and Related Topics: Research Resources

Research Frankenstein, monsters, myths, and related topics using these and other SCC Library resources including books, periodical articles, and credible websites. Need research help? SCC Library Ask-A-Librarian chat is available 24/7.

Related Research Guide

SCC librarians have created another research guides that you may want to check out:

Dracula: Information Sources

Search Terms

"Which words should I use
when I search?"

It can be hard to figure out which search terms to use when searching for information. If you don't easily find the information you need, consult with a librarian ASAP. We'll help you identify other search terms and phrases which will get you the results you're looking for. We might explore using different combinations of words like these:

  • Legends
  • Folklore
  • Mythology
  • History
  • Psychology
  • Serial killers
  • Monsters
  • Werewolves
  • Zombies
  • Frankenstein

Here are some example searches you can use in the library's article index databases (such as ProQuest, Academic Search Complete, or JSTOR).

  • monsters  AND  fear  AND  children
  • monsters  AND  "popular culture"
  • monsters AND psychology AND "motion pictures"
  • witches   AND  feminism
  • werewolves AND  legends
  • vampires AND  folklore
  • (vampires OR Dracula) AND  homosexuality

 

Books (and eBooks)

Use the Library Catalog to find books on specific subjects.

If you search by subject (rather than keyword) here are some subject headings to try:

  •  Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft
  • Frankenstein films
  • Frankenstein, Victor (Fictitious character)
  • British literature
  • Monsters in literature
  • Vampires in literature
  • Women and literature - England
  • Difference (Psychology)
  • Folklore
  • Mythology
  • Human behavior
  • Human beings - Animal nature
  • Culture conflict
  • Intergroup relations
  • Good and Evil - Psychological aspects
  • Social evolution
  • Individual differences
  • Personality development
  • Body image
  • Stereotypes
  • Social stratification
  • Physical-appearance-based bias
  • Beauty, Personal - Social aspects
  • Beauty, Personal - Psychological aspects
  • Human reproductive technology
  • Cloning - Moral and ethical aspects
  • Generic engineering
  • Biotechnology
  • Bioethics
  • Medical ethics
  • Human experimentation
  • Tissue and organ procurement - Ethics
  • Horror fiction
  • Horror tales
  • Horror films
  • Supernatural in literature
  • Supernatural in motion pictures
  • Scientists in literature   

 

Books that check out (library second floor)

Frankenstein: A Cultural History  
823.7 SHELLEYzh 2007

The Monsters: Mary Shelley and the Curse of Frankenstein  
823.7 SHELLEYzh 2006

Mary Shelley in Her Times  
823.7 SHELLEYzh 2000

The Monster Show: A Cultural History of Horror  
791.43 SKAL 1993

 

Reference Books (library first floor)
Reference books include subject encyclopedias which are a great starting points for research because they give you: 
  1. a concise overview of a topic
  2. summary of the history and current state of the topic
  3. a bibliography of other scholarly and credible sources for further research
Here are some examples:

Welcome

Find credible information in books, periodicals, and websites about Frankenstein and related topics.

 

          Frankenstein book cover  

A copy of this common text is held on reserve at the SCC Library circulation desk.

Ask about borrowing films or ebooks if you are interested.

Read the full text ebook or listen to the full text audiobook of Frankenstein by Mary Shelley at links like these:

Websites

Explore archives of images, correspondence, and other information about Mary Shelley, Frankenstein, and the state of science during her time using the links below and other online archives. Of possible interest as well may be information about cloning, medical ethics, and other topics.

How to Google search for .gov sites:

To search for information from a US government website add the following to the end of your Google search:

site:.gov

Library Databases (and Articles)

star iconIf your research focuses on a literary topic (such as Mary Shelley or the novel Frankenstein), begin your research by finding our best literary databases. Here's how:

  1. From the SCC Library homepage click on Start Your Research.
  2. Scroll down and choose Research Databases.
  3. Click on All Subjects and select English

You will find these "best bets" databases:

Gale Literary Sources
Literature Resource Center

ProQuest Learning: Literature

You may also find information on your topic on our most popular databases.

Links to our literary databases and to our most popular databases include the following:

Other Research Guides

Depending upon your research topic, you may wish to use any of these related research guides from the SCC Library:

Topic essays from e-books

Links to chapters from the SCC Library e-book Literature and Its Times:

 

Links to chapters from the SCC Library e-book Reference Guide to English Literature: