Depressed teenage boy on park bench. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., 25 May 2016.
http://quest.eb.com/search/132_1367465/1/132_1367465/cite. Accessed 19 Oct 2016.
Questions about research, citation, login, or other?
Contact a librarian any time!
It's useful to keep a list of search words as you utilize various databases, indexes, and search engines. Here are some to consider:
school shootings
school violence
violence in adolescence
youth and violence
violence in children
violence prevention
violence in society
violence - psychological aspects
self destructive behavior
suicide
suicide prevention
schools - security measures
bullying
cyberbullying
depression, mental
gun control
You can find books in the SCC and SFCC Libraries by using the Search box on the library webpage.
Books at SFCC and partner libraries (like Gonzaga) can be requested online and sent to the SCC Library for pick up.
This library database is a collection of around 150,000 ebooks that can be viewed online or downloaded to a mobile device. You will find numerous ebooks on school shootings, bullying, gun control, suicide, and many other related topics.
Library databases contain information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They often include scholarly sources that are appropriate for college-level research. You will find a complete listing of all library databases on the SCC Library homepage. Below are selected databases recommended for researching school shootings and related topics.
General background information: These contain collections of reference books, including scholarly encyclopedias.
Articles from periodicals (popular magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers): Although the first two databases below are similar and have some overlapping coverage, each one also has unique content. You may want to try searching both.
Controversial topics:
Streaming videos: Many different topics are covered.
You'll find many sources by Googling. It's important to always evaluate web sources to make sure they are appropriate for college-level research. More information on how to evaluate web sources.
Here are a few good starting points:
A Mother's Reckoning - official website for the book by Sue Klebold; click the Resources link for additional information sources
Prevention & School Safety – a psychologist-recommended list of information resources
Suicide - U.S. National Library of Medicine
Youth Violence - U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Teen Violence - U.S. National Library of Medicine
Here are some journal articles from the library's Academic Search Complete database on the legal aspects of school shootings. You can find many more by using search word combinations such as: school shootings AND law
Arming the good guys: school zones and the second amendment
Civil liability for bullying: how federal statutes and state tort law can protect our children
Gun Policy, Opinion, Tragedy, and Blame Attribution: The Conditional Influence of Issue Frames
“The Road to Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions”: A Historical, Theoretical, and Legal Analysis of Zero-Tolerance Weapons Policies in American Schools
Addressing School Violence – Federal Bureau of Investigation; includes section on warning signs
Early Warning, Timely Response: a guide to safe schools – U.S. Department of Education
Effective Response to School Violence : A Guide for Educators and Law Enforcement Personnel - this book can be found in the eBook Collection library database; chapter one has information on warning signs
School shootings: the warning signs - tips from a psychologist who specializes in this topic
Threats by children: when are they serious? - American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Warning signs of youth violence – American Psychological Association
When you use the search box on the SCC Library webpage you will retrieve materials that are available at both Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College. Click the “Get it” link and sign in to your account in order to request books from the SFCC Library. Select Partner Libraries from the dropdown menu on the search box to see materials that are available from Gonzaga University and other partner libraries. You can also request books from those libraries.
If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC or at any of our partner libraries we can still get it for you. You can request an interlibrary loan and we'll find the item for you wherever it's available. Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.
Visit during 
