Skip to main content
library banner

ENGL 101 - Miller - Thirteen Reasons Why: Finding Information Sources

Use this guide to find credible and academic sources about issues related to this novel

Welcome!

 Thirteen Reasons Why
Thirteen Reasons Why book cover

 

The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Sharon Miller's ENGL 101 class find credible and academic information sources.  You will find suggestions for useful sources, search techniques and evaluation methods for researching your topic.

Recommended Sources and Searching Tips

LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES - find these linked from the Library website

Scholarly Encyclopedias - concise, general background information; articles often written by experts who are university professors

Periodicals - magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals

Controversial Topics

Books

 

GENERAL TIPS FOR DATABASE SEARCHING

  • When searching, use quotation marks to keep phrases together:  "date rape'", "mental health", "emotional development"
  • The asterisk (*) can be used as a wild card.  For example:  adolescen* will retrieve both adolescence and adolescent.
  • If you have too many results when using the library research databases try changing the search fields.  Here's an example from Academic Search Complete that shows the search fields changed to Subject Terms.  In other words, you're telling the search engine to only retrieve articles that are really about that subject, rather than just mentioning the search words in a minor way.

 

Academic Search Complete search example

Research Help from a Librarian

Feeling frustrated?

Not finding what you need?

Having trouble using the library databases?

Not sure which search words to use?


Then it’s probably time to a
sk a librarian for some help.

 

If you need immediate help, contact a librarian any time using our online chat service.

24/7 live chatchat 

Evenings and weekends you may be chatting with a librarian from another college. Ask for an SCC librarian to contact you for follow-up if needed.

Selected Websites

13 Reasons Why: Information Resources - Suicide Prevention Resource Center

Talking About 13 Reasons Why & Teen Suicide: Tips for Parents – American Academy of Pediatrics

Teen Suicide – American Academy of Family Physicians


MedlinePlus logo

From the National Library of Medicine's MedlinePlus website:

Search Words

Brainstorm the words that describe your topic.  Keep a list and add to it as you read and discover new terms.  Ask a librarian for help selecting the best words to use when searching the library's research databases.

Here are some search words related to the issues raised by Thirteen Reasons Why:

underage parties
underage sex
underage drinking
date rape
sexual assault
bullying
school bullying
slut shaming
reputation
manipulation
parenting
teens, teenagers
adolescents, adolescence
emotional development
mental health
suicide
suicide prevention
suicidal behavior

eBook Collection examples

Here’s a sampling of the types of books you can find in the eBook Collection library database:

Best, Joel, and Kathleen A. Bogle. Kids Gone Wild: From Rainbow Parties to Sexting, Understanding the Hype Over Teen Sex. NYU Press, 2014. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=837423&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Boske, Christa, and Azadeh Osanloo. Students, Teachers, and Leaders Addressing Bullying in Schools. Brill | Sense, 2015. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1356188&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Collins, W. Andrew, and Brett Paul Laursen. Relationship Pathways: From Adolescence to Young Adulthood. SAGE Publications, Inc, 2012. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=474571&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Dekker, Kas. School Bullying: Predictive Factors, Coping Strategies and Effects on Mental Health. Nova Science Publishers, Inc, 2013. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=632997&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Edvin, David, and Samuel Harald. Underage Drinking: Examining and Preventing Youth Use of Alcohol. Nova Science Publishers, Inc, 2010. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1512170&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Healey, Justin. Youth Mental Health. Spinney Press, 2017. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1555917&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Mc Guckin, Conor, and Lucie Corcoran. Bullying and Cyberbullying: Prevalence, Psychological Impacts and Intervention Strategies. Nova Science Publishers, Inc, 2016. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1441606&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Neff Claster, Patricia, and Sampson Lee Blair. Gender, Sex, and Sexuality Among Contemporary Youth: Generation Sex. Emerald Publishing Limited, 2017. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1570345&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Raphael, Jody. Rape Is Rape: How Denial, Distortion, and Victim Blaming Are Fueling a Hidden Acquaintance Rape Crisis. Vol. First edition, Independent Publishers Group, 2013. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=548617&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Schott, Robin May. School Bullying: New Theories in Context. Cambridge University Press, 2014. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=685299&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Wagner, Barry M. Suicidal Behavior in Children and Adolescents. Yale University Press, 2009. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=302173&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Williams, Terry. Teenage Suicide Notes: An Ethnography of Self-Harm. Columbia University Press, 2017. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=nlebk&AN=1821402&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Academic Search Complete articles

Here’s a sampling of the types of articles you can find in the Academic Search Complete library database:

Hackman, Christine L., et al. “Slut-Shaming and Victim-Blaming: A Qualitative Investigation of Undergraduate Students’ Perceptions of Sexual Violence.” Sex Education, vol. 17, no. 6, Nov. 2017, pp. 697–711. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/14681811.2017.1362332.

Hill, Nicole T. M., et al. “Safe Communication About Suicide in the Digital Age: Harnessing the Role of Media in Youth Suicide Prevention.” Psychiatric Times, vol. 36, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 18–19. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=a9h&AN=134145803&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

King, Keith A., et al. “Impact of Parenting Behaviors on Adolescent Suicide Based on Age of Adolescent.” Journal of Child & Family Studies, vol. 27, no. 12, Dec. 2018, pp. 4083–4090. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s10826-018-1220-3.

Papp, Leanna, et al. “Exploring Perceptions of Slut-Shaming on Facebook: Evidence for a Reverse Sexual Double Standard.” Gender Issues, vol. 32, no. 1, Mar. 2015, pp. 57–76. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s12147-014-9133-y.

Swanbrow Becker, Marty. “Why Schools Need to Step Up Suicide Prevention Efforts.” Education Digest, vol. 83, no. 2, Oct. 2017, pp. 17–20. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccs.spokane.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=a9h&AN=124788422&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

Yurasek, Ali M., et al. “The Effects of Parent, Sibling and Peer Substance Use on Adolescent Drinking Behaviors.” Journal of Child & Family Studies, vol. 28, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 73–83. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s10826-018-1251-9.

Evaluating information and domain searching

WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.

  • Who's the author?  Is the author an expert?
  • What's the nature of the information?  Is it objective or biased?  Is it based on careful research?
  • When was it written?  Is it appropriately up-to-date?

Note:  Evaluating information can be more complicated than answering these simple questions. If you need help thinking through the evaluation process, ask a librarian or your instructor.


Domain Searching

Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information.  Here are a couple of search examples:

"school bullying" site:.edu

teen suicide prevention site:.gov