Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is an engraving from Utopia
by Thomas More published in 1516
N.N., Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons
Not finding what you need?
Having trouble using the library databases?
Not sure which search words to use?
Then it’s probably time to ask a librarian for some help.
Tim Aman, Reference Services Librarian
If you need immediate help, contact a librarian any time using our online chat service.
(Evenings and weekends you may be chatting with a librarian from another college. Ask for an SCC librarian to contact you for follow-up if needed.)
Library Services Update
Coronavirus COVID-19 Event
Check this guide for the latest on SCC Library services during the Coronavirus COVID-19 event.
The purpose of this research guide is to help students in Janelle Cordero's ENGL 102 class find credible and academic information sources on utopias/dystopias and themes related to the readings. Here are some core library research databases that will be helpful for most topics. Ask a librarian if you have trouble selecting the best databases for your particular topic.
LIBRARY RESEARCH DATABASES
Scholarly Encyclopedias - concise, general background information; articles often written by experts who are university professors
- Credo Reference - article examples: climate change, Internet addiction, income inequality
- Gale eBooks - article examples: immortality, utopia & dystopia, social class prejudice
Periodicals - magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals
- CQ Researcher (in-depth, unbiased reports on political and social issues) - article examples: manipulating human genes, technology addiction, inequality in America
- Opposing Viewpoints (reference, news, magazine, and journal articles as well as statistics, videos, audio clips and recommended websites providing pro and con coverage of controversial political and social issues) - article examples: "Animal-to-human organ transplantation is unethical", "Animal-to-human organ transplantation could benefit humans"
- eBook Collection - 150,000 ebooks selected for college and university researchers
Browse the Table of Contents and Index to find the specific information you need. It's not necessary to read the whole book.
Other Specialized Databases - here are some examples of specialized databases that you may find useful depending on your topic
Other Databases on the Open Web - these aren't library databases but they do contain extensive and credible information
- ERIC - articles and reports in the field of education
- Google Scholar - scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts
- PubMed - a vast database of global biomedical literature
Advanced Searching Tips
- When searching, use quotation marks to keep phrases together: "genetic engineering", "income inequality", "climate change"
- If you have too many results when using the library research databases try changing the search fields. Here's an example from Academic Search Complete that shows the search fields changed to Subject Terms. This tells the database to only find articles that are really about that subject, rather than just mentioning the words in a minor way.
Wild Card Searching
- The asterisk (*) can be used as a wild card to retrieve different forms of a word. For example, adult* will retrieve adult, adults, adulthood.
Evaluating information and domain searching
WWW Test - ask these questions when determining whether a source is reliable, especially when Googling.
- Who's the author? Is the author an expert?
- What's the nature of the information? Is it objective or biased? Is it based on careful research?
- When was it written? Is it appropriately up-to-date?
Note: Evaluating information can be more complicated than answering these simple questions. If you need help thinking through the evaluation process, ask a librarian or your instructor.
Try limiting your Google search to a particular domain (such as .edu or .gov which are restricted domains). You may find more reliable information. Here are a couple of search examples:
"climate change" site:.edu
"human organs" animals site:.gov