Skip to main content
library banner

Wildlife: Research Resources

Use the resources and suggestions on this guide to find all types of wildlife information. Contact a librarian if you want research help (available 24/7).

Books

Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.

  • Books that check out are on the library 2nd floor. 
  • Reference books are on the 1st floor. They're a great starting place for research.
  • Partner Libraries search will find books at Gonzaga and other area college libraries.

Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:

  • Mammals
  • Birds
  • Birds of prey
  • Zoology
  • Social behavior in animals
  • Evolution (biology)

Animal Life Encyclopedia book cover

Browse the 590 section of the library reference books.

Remember that encyclopedias like Grzimek's not only have sections specifically on your animal, but also include discussions on broader topics like:

  • Mammals: Reproductive processes
  • Adaptations
  • Structure & Function (Evolutionary)
  • Behavior
  • Nutritional adaptations
  • Distribution

Use Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia in the library Reference section, or access our online version in the Gale Virtual Reference Library database from the link below.

Books: Anatomy & Physiology of Animals

Databases & Articles

Search for articles about your animal in these encyclopedias and periodical indexes:

eBooks

Search our vast collection of ebooks!

 

Search the Library's eBooks to find titles like these:

  Animal Evolution book cover Land Mammals of Oregon book cover

Example ebooks

Websites

Websites: Endangered Species

Endangered Species (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)

Provides a wide range of information about endangered species in the United States. Additional information about foreign endangered species is also included.

Environmental Conservation Online System

Sponsored by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, this page provides information about foreign endangered species.

NatureServe Explorer

An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.

World Wildlife Fund

Provides information on some of the more high-profile endangered species.