Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture
This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites.
van Gogh, Vincent, The Road Menders, 1889, Oil on canvas;
29 x 36 1/2 in.; 73.66 x 92.71 cm. Acquired 1949. Paintings, 0799, Dutch.
Source: The Philips Collection http://www.phillipscollection.org/
Use the library Search to look for books on specific subjects.
Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library. You'll find books on art and architecture in the 700s. Don't forget to check the Oversize Collection for "coffee table-sized" books.
Reference books are on the 1st floor. They are often good starting points for research. Here are some examples:
Getting Research Help
Questions about research, citation, login, or other?
Contact a librarian any time!
The Library subscribes to a variety of databases which contain quality information for student research. The following databases will be especially useful researching art and architecture topics:
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive encyclopedia and dictionary of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day; includes world art, images, biographies, and more
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Periodical articles and other information about art, architecture, design, urban planning, landscape architecture, and related topics
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, from the first issue up to 3 - 5 years ago
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles on all topics (may include some books or other media)
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Index to 1000s of magazines, journals and newspapers
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference books in a variety of subject areas
Art History Resources on the Web
A gateway website with links arranged by time period and region of the world.
A searchable directory of links to museum quality artwork.
Online subject gateway and resource list, which aims to be a gathering place for networked information on art and architecture.
Cities and Buildings Database
"A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world begun in 1995 by the University Libraries at the University of Washington."
HOLLIS Images (Harvard Library)
"HOLLIS Images is the Harvard Library's dedicated image catalog. It includes content from archives, museums, libraries, and other collections throughout Harvard University. Access to the catalog is open to the general public."
Includes background information on individual works of art, plus interactive multimedia modules for selected works.
MOMA: The Museum of Modern Art
Read about the museum's collections and exhibits, also look at their online projects and exhibitions.
National Gallery of Art
Provides information on more than 110,000 objects, with images of 20,000 of them, plus teaching resources.
Media Center of Art History
From Columbia University. Uses multimedia and virtual reality technologies to present some of the most important architectural monuments built in the Mediterranean region.
"Over 85,000 digital images from the British Architectural Library. All can be purchased or licensed through the website, and low resolution images can be downloaded for non-commercial private study or research."
Seattle Public Library - Northwest Art Collection
Prints, drawings, and paintings from important Northwest artists.
Multimedia web-book about art and art history.
Information on the Getty Museum collection, exhibits, art education, conservation, and scholarly research.
Timeline of Art History
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection.
Voice of the Shuttle - Art History
A collection of art history links.
Local & Regional Art Museums, Galleries & Organizations
Can't Find It at SCC?
When you use the search box on the SCC Library webpage you will retrieve materials that are available at both Spokane Community College and Spokane Falls Community College. Sign ino your account in order to request books from the SFCC Library. Change the dropdown menu from CCS Libraries to Partner Libraries to see materials tthat are available at Gonzaga University and a few other area institutions.
If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC or at any of our partner libraries we can still get it for you. You can request an interlibrary loan and we'll find the item for you wherever it's available. Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.