Skip to Main Content

Spokane Community College Library - Collection Development Policy

Library of Things Collection Development Policy

Spokane Community College Library of Things Collection Development Policy

 

Introduction

The Library of Things Collection Development Policy was initially created in May 2024 by Faculty Librarian Greg Bem, Faculty Librarian Linda Keys, and Circulation Supervisor Kelsey McCartney.  This policy outlines the principles and guidelines for the selection, acquisition, maintenance, and removal of items in the Spokane Community College Library of Things collection. The Library of Things aims to provide SCC students, faculty, and staff with access to a diverse range of non-traditional items that support academic and vocational development, and personal enrichment.


History

The Spokane Community College Library of Things collection was established in 2017, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, with the aim of providing SCC students, faculty, and staff with access to a diverse range of non-traditional items to enhance learning experiences, support vocational training, and encourage personal enrichment. Despite the challenges posed by the pandemic, the collection has continuously evolved and expanded to meet the changing needs and interests of the SCC community, with regular evaluations and updates ensuring its alignment with academic programs and personal development goals. The Library of Things collection stands as a testament to the library's commitment to innovation, adaptability, and the ongoing pursuit of providing valuable resources for academic success, vocational development, and lifelong learning.

 

Collection Objectives

The Spokane Community College Library of Things collection aims to:

  1. Enhance student learning experiences by offering resources that complement and supplement classroom instruction, vocational training, and hands-on learning opportunities.
  2. Support faculty and staff in their teaching, research, and professional development by providing access to specialized equipment, tools, and materials.
  3. Promote community engagement and lifelong learning by offering resources that cater to diverse interests, hobbies, and personal enrichment. In cases of personal enrichment, students will be encouraged to explore and utilize the Library of Things collections available at public libraries in the community.

 

Selection Criteria

Items considered for inclusion in the Spokane Community College Library of Things collection should meet the following criteria:

  1. Relevance: Items should align with the academic programs, vocational training, and personal development needs of Spokane Community College students, faculty, and staff.
  2. Educational Value: Items should contribute to student learning outcomes, support vocational skills development, or foster personal growth and enrichment. A limited number of items within the collection will support recreation and leisure activities.
  3. Quality and Durability: Items should be of high quality, well-maintained, and capable of withstanding regular use.
  4. Demand: Items should have a demonstrated or anticipated demand from SCC students, faculty, and staff.
  5. Maintenance-Free Selection: Given the budget constraints, the collection should exclusively consist of items that require no maintenance. Items that require any form of maintenance, including repair, servicing, or upkeep, should be strictly avoided during the acquisition process.
  6. Safety: Items should meet applicable safety standards and regulations to ensure the well-being of users.
  7. Budgetary Considerations: The acquisition of items should align with the library's budget constraints, ensuring responsible financial management.
  8. Space: Items should be of a size and nature that can be reasonably accommodated within the library's physical space limitations.


Acquisition Methods

Items for the Spokane Community College Library of Things collection may be acquired through the following methods:

  1. Purchase: Items may be acquired through reputable vendors, considering cost, quality, and availability.
  2. Donations: The library may accept donations of items that meet the selection criteria and contribute to the educational objectives of the collection.
  3. Partnerships: The library may establish partnerships with academic departments, community organizations, local businesses, and the Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation to acquire or share resources.


Collection Maintenance

  1. Regular Evaluation: Items should be regularly evaluated to ensure their continued relevance, functionality, and alignment with academic and vocational needs.
  2. Updates and Expansion: The collection should be periodically expanded and updated to reflect emerging needs, technological advancements, and changes in the academic curriculum and vocational training programs, while adhering to the principle of maintenance-free items.


Weeding and Removal

  1. Relevance: Items that are no longer relevant to the academic programs, vocational training, or personal development needs of SCC students, faculty, and staff may be removed from the collection.
  2. Condition: Items that are extensively damaged, irreparable, or pose safety concerns should be promptly removed from circulation.
  3. Disposal: Removed items should be disposed of responsibly, following applicable environmental regulations and institutional policies.


User Feedback and Engagement

The library encourages SCC students, faculty, and staff to provide feedback and suggestions for new acquisitions to enhance the Library of Things collection. User input will be considered in the context of the selection criteria and the library's available resources.


Policy Review

This collection development policy will undergo periodic review, at least once every two years, to ensure its alignment with the evolving needs of SCC students, faculty, and staff. The review process will involve library staff, faculty, and administration to ensure comprehensive and informed decision-making.


Circulation

  1. Borrowing Privileges: The Library of Things collection is available for borrowing to currently enrolled Spokane Community College students and employees. Community members are not eligible to borrow items from the collection.
  2. Agreement Form: Prior to borrowing any item from the Library of Things collection, each patron must sign an agreement form acknowledging their responsibility for the borrowed items and agreeing to adhere to the established borrowing guidelines and policies. The agreement form serves as a means to ensure that patrons are aware of their obligations and responsibilities when borrowing items from the collection.
  3. Loan Period: The loan period for items in the Library of Things collection is one week, inclusive of weekend days. Patrons are expected to return the borrowed items by the due date to allow other members of the SCC community to access and benefit from the collection.
  4. Renewals: Renewals for Library of Things items may be permitted if there are no pending requests for the item. Patrons may inquire about renewals in person at the circulation desk or by contacting the circulation supervisor.
  5. Lost or Damaged Items: Patrons are responsible for the safekeeping and proper use of borrowed items. In the event of loss, damage, or theft, patrons must report the incident to library staff immediately. Replacement or repair costs may be charged to the patron, as determined by the library's established policies.


Marketing

  1. Promotion and Awareness: The library will engage in marketing and promotional activities to raise awareness of the Library of Things collection. This may include creating informational materials, conducting workshops, and utilizing online platforms to highlight the resources available.
  2. Outreach: The library will actively engage with students, faculty, and staff to promote the collection and its benefits through orientations, campus events, and collaborations with student organizations.


Partnerships

  1. Collaborative Partnerships: The library will seek to establish collaborative partnerships with academic departments, community organizations, local businesses, and other educational institutions to enhance the Library of Things collection. These partnerships may involve sharing resources, expertise, or funding opportunities to expand the range of items available.
  2. Public Library Cooperation: The library will actively collaborate with public libraries in the community to promote access to a broader range of resources. In cases where Spokane Community College's Library of Things collection may not have specific items for personal enrichment, students will be referred to public libraries' Library of Things collections.


Future Development and Funding

  1. Collection Development Plan: The library will develop a comprehensive Collection Development Plan for the Library of Things collection. The plan will outline strategic goals, target areas for expansion, and potential funding sources, including the Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation.
  2. Grant Opportunities: The library will actively pursue grant opportunities to secure additional funding for the acquisition and maintenance of items in the collection. The library will collaborate with the Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation to identify and apply for relevant grants.
  3. Donor Engagement: The library will engage with potential donors, alumni, community members, and the Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation to seek financial support or donations of items that align with the collection's objectives.
  4. Budget Advocacy: The library will advocate for adequate funding from the college administration and the Community Colleges of Spokane Foundation to sustain and enhance the Library of Things collection, ensuring its continued relevance and usefulness to the SCC community.
  5. This Collection Development Policy provides guidance for the selection, acquisition, maintenance, and removal of items in the Spokane Community College Library of Things collection. It aims to support the educational, vocational, and personal development needs of the SCC community while adhering to budgetary considerations and fostering collaborative partnerships within the community.

 

This policy was created to address the specific needs and constraints of the Library of Things. More information can be found about the library collections generally in our SCC Library Collection Development Policy.