Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Problems

Guide for a specific Sociology assignment

Online Resources

Books from the Catalog

 


STATISTICS


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The primary government gateway to health information and statistics.

National Center for Health Statistics 
Contains statistical information on related health information, including aging, births, deaths, disease, and health care.

FastStats A-Z (National Center for Health Statistics)
Arranged alphabetically by topic, this site contains quick, frequently asked tidbits of health information, such as the number of overweight people in the United States, life expectancy, teen pregnancy, prevalence of cancer, and more. Useful for ready reference queries. Provides linked sources of information.

National Cancer Institute: Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results (SEER)
The "premier source for cancer statistics in the United States." Provides quick access to fact sheets on different cancer types, as well as data tables according to chosen characteristics. The NCI's Cancer Statistics page also links to other cancer statistics and reports.

Administration on Aging Statistics
Contains statistical information on the older population (persons over 65 years of age) in the United States.

Childstats.gov
Combines data from 22 Federal agencies that collect data on children and families, and presents information in the annual America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being. The site also provides an extensive listing of its data sources, allowing you to link to other data collections.

FedStats 
Contains statistical information from over 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies. Subjects covered include economic and population trends, education, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.

Mapping the Measure of America
Health, education and income data based on the Human Development Index, "a composite measure of wellbeing and opportunity." Data can be displaying graphically or based on geography.

World Health Organization
The World Health Organization presents some health related data.

Statistical Agencies International 
Contains links to many nations' statistical bureaus. Most of the data provided is in English as well as the language of origin.

County and City Data Books
County and City Data Books from 1944-2000 are presented online by the University of Virginia Libraries. Included are population, demographic, crime, education, and economic data.

POLICY


Suggested Keywords and Vocabulary you may encounter in this research:

Health services

Medical policy -- Social aspects

Public health -- United States

Health services accessibility

Public health

Healthcare disparities

Health services accessibility

Population policy

Social conditions

Rural conditions

Medicine, Rural

Population characteristics

Quality of life

Health and hygiene

Medical care

Public health

Vital statistics

Maternal health services

Voluntary health agencies

Health risk assessment

Environmental health

Sexually transmitted diseases