Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Computer Science: Research Resources

Reference

Scholarly encyclopedias and other reference sources are a great first source to use when researching a new topic.


The Library has both print and e-encyclopedias.


Databases which contain e-encyclopedias:

Example encyclopedias:

eBooks

Search the library's ebooks database.

Because the field of computer technology changes rapidly, the SCC Library's most up-to-date networking, web design, software, and related topics in are not in the library's print collection, but are located in the ebook collection.

Example ebooks:


Plus O'Reilly Media

Books on some software topics are available from free from O'Reilly Media:

Books in SCC and partner libraries

Use the Library SEARCH to find SCC/SFCC books.

(Remember to also search partner libraries like GU, etc.)


Example books from the SCC Collection:

Article databases

Search the library's databases to find articles in:

  • magazines

  • newspapers

  • trade & scholarly journals


While students can borrow print periodicals, like WIRED magazine, from the Library, thousands of subscription only periodicals are full-text in research databases.

Suggested databases:

Example periodicals in SCC databases

Associates Programs Source Plus

  • Computer World
  • PC World
  • PC Magazine
  • Computer Weekly
  • Design Week
  • eWeek
  • International Journal of Advanced Computer Research
  • Health Management Technology
  • Wireless Design and Development

ProQuest

  • Network Computing
  • Electronic Design
  • Health Data Management

. . .  and many more!


Example article: