Research Guides: ELMT: Electrical Maintenance Technician: Websites

Professional Associations

Several professional associations exist in electrical and related fields, including those listed below. If you don't find one of interest here, contact a librarian for help with finding one on a specific topic of interest to you.

Free online periodicals

Keep up-to-date by browsing articles in these trade journals recommended by SCC librarians and your EE/BioMed instructors.

NOTE: Students and others may create a free account for EC&M, Electronic Design, and other trade journals. Creating an account is free and give you access to current issues.

EC & M: Electrical Construction & Maintenance
Issues published 8 months ago and previous offer free articles.
(8 month delay in full text free online without registration or signing up for free account or print subscription.)
Electronic Design
Issues published 8 months ago and previous offer free articles.
(8 month delay in full text free online without registration or signing up for free account or print subscription.)
Process Instrumentation - Current articles
PI: Process Instrumentation - Archive
Wire and Cable Technology International
Provides information about all types of electrical, communication and mechanical wire and cables including fiber optic cables.
Electrical Contractor magazine
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR is a monthly print and online magazine that serves the field of electrical construction. Published by the National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA), it is headquartered in Washington, D.C., and covers the electrical construction industry.
EPRI Journal
EPRI Journal is a publication of the Electric Power Research Institute. It provides in-depth reporting on electricity sector R&D and industry/technology news.
IEEE Spectrum: Archive
Trade journal from IEEE, " the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity."
NETA World
NETA World, the official publication of the InterNational Electrical Testing Association (NETA),
Delivers coverage of the latest industry trends, technology breakthroughs, new products and solutions in electrical testing.

Newsletters

Electrical Currents Newsletter
"The Electrical Currents Newsletter from L&I's Office of the Chief Electrical Inspector was created to provide guidance and information to the Electrical industry in Washington."
Manufacturing News