Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender Studies: Research Resources

Three teenagers playing cards. Black and whilte photograph from 1935.Use this guide to explore research resources on the topic of Gender.

Want research help? Librarians are available to help you 24/7 via live chat, or by phone, in-person visit, or email during library open hours.


Image: Teenagers playing cards:1935. Photograph. Britannica ImageQuest, Encyclopædia Britannica, 25 May 2016.

Scholarly Encylopedias

A scholarly encyclopedia is great first source to use when researching a topic.

 

The Library has both print and e-encyclopedias.


Databases which contain e-encyclopedias include:

Example encyclopedias:

Books

Use the Library SEARCH to find books on your topic.

Suggested search terms

  • Gender
  • Gender identitylink to book record, Beyond Trans: Does Gender Matter?
  • Femininity
  • Masculinity
  • Equality
  • Gay rights 
  • Lesbians
  • Gay men
  • Coming out
  • Bisexuals
  • Transgender people
  • Men
  • Fathers
  • Women
  • Mothers
  • Women - Psychology

Example books from the SCC Collection:

eBooks

Search the Library databases to find ebooks:

Example ebooks:

Article Databases

Search these selected databases to find articles in magazines, newspapers, & scholarly journals:

Videos

Login problems? Contact a librarian right away if you have any problems accessing these videos or any information from the SCC Library: (509) 533-8821

 

SCC logo, Skitch holding bookThis guide was created by librarians at Spokane Community College Library.