Skip to main content
library banner

ENGL 102 - Roewe, Spring 2020: Historical Events and Their Interpretation

Historical Events and Their Interpretation

Welcome!

Start your research at the
SCC Library webpage.

 

.

Contact us any time!

There are several of ways to get research help.

Librarians are happy to help 24/7.

Looking for an historical event to write about?

Browse these library research databases to identify an historical event for your paper.

Library Databases

Background Information from Reference Books

History Databases

Books

  • eBook Collection - around 150,000 titles specially selected for college and university researchers

Here's an example of how you might use the eBook Collection to find first hand accounts (primary sources).  Try searching your event along with words like diaries, letters, speeches, interviews, memoirs, and journals.

search example for eBook Collection database

Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals)

Here's an example of how you can do a more precise search in Academic Search Complete by changing the search field.  In this case the field has been changed to Subject Terms.  We will only retrieve articles that are really about the Vietnam War and the Draft.

search example for Academic Search Complete database

History Research Guide

History Research Guide

This research guide, created by SCC librarians, will be especially useful for finding primary sources.

Evaluating Information

WWW Test
  • Who's the author?  Is the author an expert?
  • What's the nature of the information?  Is it objective or biased?  Is it based on careful research?
  • When was it written?  Is it appropriately up-to-date?

Domain searching

You may want to consider limiting your Google search to a particular domain, such as a .edu or .gov.

Japanese internment site:.gov

McCarthyism site:.edu