Why search for a book? Books provide great historical perspective, a broad overview on a subject (as opposed to the specificity of journal and news articles), and can provide you with important background info for a research assignment.
When aren't books the best choice? Bear in mind that the lengthy publication process for books means that you won't be able to use them as information resources for events taking place within the past year or so (look for articles and web info). Remember to evaluate the author and his/her bias just as you would any other source.
The most important tip to remember is "don't ignore books" just because you are running out of time. Use the table of contents and index within each book to zero in on those chapters and key words that are just right for your assignment.
Questions about research, citation, login, or other?
Contact a librarian any time!
Library materials, such as books and DVDs, can be requested from any Community College of Spokane Library and delivered to the Pullman Campus.
When you find an item in the Library Catalog that you want, follow the steps in the document above to have it delivered to the Center nearest you. You will be notified by email or phone when it arrives.
If you find a reference to a book or article that does not seem to be available through the online catalog or article databases, the SFCC Library can get it for you! Contact the Reference Desk at 509-533-8821 or submit an online interlibrary loan request.
Keep in mind that it may take ten days to two weeks for print materials to arrive. Articles will be primarily emailed and typically take up to 24-72 hours to arrive.
This document, "Requesting a Document from the CCS Libraries," provides step-by-step instructions for requesting physical items, such as books and DVDs from the library.
Many psychology books at the SCC Library are around call number 150.
Note: To access the resources below you need to sign-in with your Bigfoot username & password to use the databases.
Bigfoot Username:
your first name - first initial of last name - last 4 digits of your CTC@bigfoot.spokane.edu
ex. JohnD8539@bigfoot.spokane.edu
Need help? Call the CCS IT Student Helpdesk at 509-533-4357 or contact the library at 509-533-3834 / 800-251-1972.
Encyclopedias and other reference books on a variety of subjects.
eBooks from across the disciplines, including reference works and scholarly monographs. Available on the EBSCO platform.
Reference books about careers, medicine, psychology, literature, cultures/counties, history, and science.
This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books on all topics. A great first source when researching a new topic. Gives background information, definitions, and links to additional sources.
Use the library Search to find books on specific subjects. You'll find print books and some ebooks.
Your SCC Library has books on these subjects and more:
|
|
MORE OPTIONS:
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), an SCC Library database, contains 1000s of ebooks covering all topics.
Reference Books: examples Here are some print and ebook examples of subject encyclopedias in Psychology:
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by 
Visit during 
