Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
library banner

Radiology Technology: Research Guide

Use this guide to find information in books, library databases and websites

Welcome

Information Sources for
Radiology Technology

This Research Guide will help you find information in books, library databases, and websites.

 

Radiographer studying an X-ray.

Photography. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 22 Nov 2014.
http://quest.eb.com/#/search/132_1259076/1/132_1259076/cite

Websites

Professional Societies

American College of Radiology
Professional medical association composed of diagnostic radiologists, radiation oncologists, interventional radiologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and medical physicists.

American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
This organization tests, certifies and maintains the continuing education requirements for radiology, nuclear medicine and radiation therapy technologists.

American Society of Radiologic Technologists
This society serves the radiology profession by meeting the needs of radiology technologists. This is done through providing continue education opportunities,  keeping the most recent information, updating standards and curriculums in areas pertaining to radiology, as well as recruitment,                      retention and providing advocacy.

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology
This board strives to promote excellence in education and enhances patient care by assuring quality and safety through the accreditation of educational programs.

Washington Society of Radiologic Technologists
As the Washington state affiliate of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) this organization provides educational opportunities through seminars and conferences and the means of networking and communicating information.


Medical Literature

PubMed logo

PubMed / Medline - index to medical literature worldwide

Note: This is a huge database. It includes citations to journal articles from around the globe and in many different languages. You may want to limit your search to English language articles and those that are available "free full text."

Help with Research

The SCC Library has several ways to help you with research and citations:

Come in to the SCC Library Reference Desk during business hours

Call the SCC Library Reference Desk at (509) 533-8821

Send an email to the SCC Reference Desk at SCC.Reference@scc.spokane.edu

Open the SCC Library Start Your Research web page, find the online chat widget (available 24/7).

Can't Find It at SCC?

SFCC materials

When you use the Search Box on the Library website you may find books and videos on your topic that are available at the SFCC Library. You can have the item sent to SCC for you to pick up.  If it's convenient, go directly to the SFCC Library and use your student ID card to check out the books.

Partner Libraries

The SCC Library participates in a cooperative of partner Libraries in the Inland Northwest. Partner Libraries include Gonzaga University, and others. Find books in partner Libraries by going to the Search Box on the Library website, entering your search terms and clicking on the Search button. When the results appear, click on the down arrow next to CCS Libraries and select Partner Libraries from the dropdown list. You may request the books be sent to the SCC Library for pick up, or if convenient, go directly to the partner Library and use your student ID card to check out the books.

Materials at other libraries

If you find a reference to a book or journal article that does not seem to be available at SCC, we can get it for you.  We'll locate the library that owns it and request an interlibrary loan.  Keep in mind that it could take ten days to two weeks for the item to arrive if it's in a library outside the Spokane area.

Radiology Technology at SCC

Learn more about the Radiology Technology
A.A.S. degree
at Spokane Community College

Library Databases

Library databases contain reliable information that is generally not available elsewhere on the Web. They can be found by clicking Research Databases on the SCC Library homepage.  Here are some databases that may be useful for researching topics related to respiratory care:

Academic Search Complete
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals

CINAHL Complete
articles in nursing and allied health journals

Cochrane Library
evidence-based health care information, including reports on the effectiveness of different medical treatments and interventions

Micromedex
primarily a source of drug and disease information for healthcare professionals, also includes a database of easy-to-understand information for patients called CareNotes System

ProQuest
index to magazines, journals and newspapers; includes medical and allied health journals


Many SCC Library databases will prompt you to login. If this occurs, use your Bigfoot username and password:

If you are unable to login, contact a librarian as soon as possible. Librarians will make sure you are able to login.

Books

Use the Search Box on the Library webpage to look for books on specific subjects. 


Books that check out are on the 2nd floor of the library.

You'll find health and medical books in this Dewey Decimal area:

610 - 619

Books specifically related to radiology are in this area:

616.0757


eBook Collection
This library database contains 140,000 ebooks.


Reserve books can be found at the Check Out Desk and are available for in-library use only.

Radiographic Pathology book cover

Comprehensive Radiographic Pathology
(RAD 223 MURPHY)

 

Quality Management in the Imaging Sciences book cover

Quality Management in the Imaging Sciences
(RAD 212 EIKUM)


Reference books are on the 1st floor of the library. These include medical dictionaries, drug books, encyclopedias and handbooks. Here are some examples: